We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Sunday Lunch experience"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mary Mount Hotel
Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
017687 77223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 111 restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful Sunday Lunch experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went to Mary Mount with parents for Sunday Lunch (had stayed in Hotel before a couple years ago and enjoyed it then.) My mother has a wheelchair therefore we had pre-booked a table at the window and this was done without any hassle. We had a lovely table overlooking the garden with lake view and watched the blue tits feeding from the bird feeder outside the window. Shame it was pouring with rain!! The restuarant area has been refurbished and extended since our last visit and is really beautiful and comfortable. The staff were attentive and the food was delicious. The portions were amazing. The Roast Beef melted in your mouth. All in all a really nice lunch and afternoon experience for us all. Reasonable prices and would definitely go back next time in Keswick. Thank you.
Highly recommended.....................the Doyles and the Williams from Glasgow

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    9
    12
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A welcome rest spot after our hike up Walla Crag and partial walk around the lake. Best view of the bird feeders and lake out the window. There was lovely outdoor seating as well, but it was October and cold outside, so while many stayed outside in their coats, we decided to rest indoors.

We had a wonderful chat with one of the owners -- it was quite late in the afternoon, but it was okay to still order from the lunch menu. Wild mushroom and asparagus risotto hit the spot and warmed me up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Setting Excellent...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We tried Mary Mount at lunchtime on day very late in August 2013, and whilst the setting was more than excellent with beautiful views of the fells and lake, the food was variable. There was certainly lots of choice on the lunch menu and the overall portion sizes were good, although we did find a big difference in the amount of filling between a baguette and a wrap (the wrap being much smaller in comparison despite being the exact same price).

The staff taking the order (at the bar) were happy to accommodate changes to the menu, e.g. putting a wrap filling option in a baguette. Maybe the menu should simply state all fillings available in all options of bread etc.

All in all a pleasant experience in excellent surroundings, also we were able to sit outside with our dog in tow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have tried this hotel many times and never been disappointed, we enjoyed a lovely lunch and would defiantly recommend, the views and the location are exceptional, my husband very much enjoyed the real ale so much so he had 3 pints!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GOOD HOTEL IN THE BORROWDALE VALLEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at the hotel on a special deal break which ended in the middle of July. We had a lovely large room and bathroom in the newly built part of the hotel on the 1st floor which was spotless with a nice view to the mountains even though it overlooked part of the hotel and we were looked after well and found the staff very helpful and friendly. The restaurant and outside eating area was great but make sure you have a good appetite as the meals are rather large and we never had enough room for a dessert at night but there was a good choice on the menu. We had fantastic weather while we were there and did loads of walking, the only downside was that the lake was too low for the launch to visit the Lodore landing stage next to the hotel so we had to get off at one of the other landing stages and walk which wasn't really a problem. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mount Hotel also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.