We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragwood Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragwood Guesthouse
Save
You added Cragwood Guesthouse to your Saves list
44 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Stay!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have very recently stayed 3 nights at the Cragwood, this was our second time.
Gary & Diane remembered us from our first stay last year and were very welcoming again to us.
Our room was fantastic, as was their hospitality, service and great breakfast. What made our stay even more special was that it was our wedding anniversary and not only did they give us a card, but also a bottle of champagne too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel like we have found the perfect place to stay in Keswick and we have recommended this little gem to others.
We will be returning again very soon. Thank you for making our stay perfect from Pam & Dave Brown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It was great to have you stay with us again, and on your anniversary too! We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. For now - take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Absolutely outstanding stay at Cragwood. Best hosts we have met during 28 years of visiting the lakes. Rooms were immaculate and beautifully presented. Book and you will not be disappointed .Came away as friends .Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Manager at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
It was really lovely to have you both stay with us, we enjoyed meeting you and sharing our love of the lakes with you, Thank you for the comments on the standard of our rooms. We really do hope to see you at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Cragwood and had an absolutely wonderful time. Diane and Gary could not have been more friendly and welcoming and really made us feel at home. Gary's local knowledge proved invaluable and really helped us to make the most of our stay. Breakfast was delicious (thank you Diane!), as was the homemade cake that greeted us when we returned at the end of each day. We stayed in Latrigg, a gorgeous room with imposing views that more than met our needs and expectations. All the rooms are immaculately clean, cosy and beautifully presented. The only downside of a visit to Cragwood is having to leave at the end of your stay! Thank you so much Diane and Gary, we will most definitely be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We were so pleased that we were able to help in making your visit to Keswick a memorable one! we look forward to you returning. Thank you so much for the kind words about our accommodation, we are a small bed and breakfast and hope to offer our guests clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price - once again thank you - both for your review and for choosing our home for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first stay in Keswick and we couldn't have picked a nicer place . Gary and Dianne made us feel so welcome from the start, it was home from home. Our rooms were immaculate, cosy and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it, all fresh and very tasty. We parked our car in front of the house and never got back in it until we left. Plenty of walks from right outside the door. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.... your comments on the standard of our accommodation are most welcome. It is good to hear that you first stay in Keswick was a good one! We are situated close to the town centre, there are some great walks that start from the centre of town, for us it is always good to hear that guests can access all that Keswick and the surrounding area has to offer without using their car - brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at Cragwood and had a great time. Diane & Gary are wonderful hosts and make you very welcome. The breakfasts are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble - thank you Diane for Dave's birthday breakfast.....a great start to his birthday.
We travelled with another couple and all of us would not hesitate to return or to recommend to anyone. My advice if you are thinking about booking this B&B is.....don't hesitate, just book...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We hope you had a good journey home and that Dave enjoyed the rest of his birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked in here with a couple of friends after our usual location was fully booked and without a doubt we will be coming back. We received the warmest of welcome with an offer of help with our luggage and a welcome pot of tea and home-make cake after our 3 hour journey.
The rooms were beautifully presented, warm and immaculately clean - we stayed in Latrigg with a wonderful view of the fells from our windows. The bed was so comfortable we found ourselves stripping back the sheets to find the brand name of the mattress so that we can replace ours at home! On street parking was not a problem, with Di even offering to move her own car so we could park right outside the front door. Town was just a 5 minute walk away with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. The breakfast was made with top quality produce, lovely fresh fruit which was different each day, a good range of cereals, fruit juice and yogurts, followed by a delicious full English, with Di even catering for my special dietary needs.
We would definitely recommend the Cragwood B & B. Ali & Paul Bennett, Solihull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for your most welcome review... The comments regarding the mattress are particularly welcome - it is nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed a good nights' sleep!

We do try to source good quality, locally produced ingredients. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great find. Made to feel very welcome by the hosts with real coffee on arrival. We stayed in the Skiddaw room which was very clean, warm (it was blowing a gale outside) with a spotless, modern bathroom with an excellent shower. Breakfast was good and made from local produce. Will definitely return in the future.
Phil & Sally, Bolton.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for the review, in particular the comments about the bathroom - so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Guesthouse

Address: 44 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cragwood is a beautifully appointed bed and breakfast offering high quality accommodation in the stunningly located North Lakeland town of Keswick: a real home from home. Cragwood offers three individually styled bedrooms with modern en-suite facilities. The spacious breakfast room is warm and welcoming, comfortably furnished and a relaxing space to start your day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragwood Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.