We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“am going to stay again .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragwood Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragwood Guesthouse
Save
You added Cragwood Guesthouse to your Saves list
44 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“am going to stay again .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

all the things you want in a guesthouse . friendly clean good breakfast . i will go here again and would definately recommend it to friends. hosts are made for the job .
n.b would like wi fi in the rooms

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your review, it was good to meet you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our sincere apologies if you were unable to connect to the internet. We do offer free wi-fi, the access code is in the information folder in each of the guest rooms. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here in the Skiddaw room in early February. Everything was perfect and could not be faulted in any way. We have a touring caravan so don't usually bother with b&bs, we'd met Gary and Diane in a local pub just after they moved in, they've done a great job with the refurbishment. If any place could tempt us out of our caravan this is it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We were so pleased that we tempted you out of your touring caravan! It was great to have you both stay with us and thank you so much for the comments about the refurbishment, greatly appreciated.;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fabulous weekend lovely family run b&b clean we'll run friendly with a few little personal touches Whitchurch make it feel homely .
We got coffee and homemade choc cake on arrival Gary and Diane even lent us a flask of coffee on a snowy day walking , breakfast is fab and room rates are very reasonable,
Think we found a little gem stayed twice and will stay again thanks Gary and Diane .

Love Julie and graham xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Lovely to see you both again. It's nice to hear you comment about the homely feel - this is our home and we try to make our guests feel at home. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and myself stayed at Cragwood B n B for two nights taking into account New Years Eve. My first point is that a lot of B and B.s will only take a booking for three nights over New Year which does not suit everyone so a big thankyou to them for that.

We received such a lovely welcome from Diane and Gary and Gary even went to the trouble of making us a cup of tea with some of Diane's home made cake MMMM!!.

We stayed in Skiddaw room and it was everything we had hoped for. A lovely spacious room with seating area and a good size en-suite. King size bed and top of the range furnishings and finishes everywhere. The property is in a good location for everything and quiet enough so you get a good nights sleep.

We can highly recommend this property and will most definately be going back. To be honest we will not look for anywhere else in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us over the New Year. Your kind words about our home are so welcome - a big thank you from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After much research we settled on Cragwood for our two night stay in Keswick for our friends wedding and what a great decision that turned out to be! The guesthouse is in a great location, it's a 5 minute stroll into Keswick and in a nice quite neighborhood.
The guesthouse represented great value for money, it was exceptionally clean, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Not forgetting the homemade tea and cakes on arrival, which was a fabulously welcome! But most of all the real asset to Cragwood is its owners Gary and Diane, they made us feel so incredibly welcome and were full of information and enthusiasm for the local area so much so that we are already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Owner at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Keswick for your friends' wedding. It is good to hear you had a good time here with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you so much for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve,and were made to feel like we where in someone's spare room, not a business. We came in after a few drinks and sat in a lounge area in our room and the owner let himself into our room and escorted my friend to her room.Once they where in bed discussing the very bizar circumstances, they received a knock on there door and were told not to talk. Very odd way to treat your guests, unless your 85 don't bother staying here! Pictures are way better than in real life, one room very small, bathroom with no shower gel etc . Not worth £80.00 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend break at Cragwood Guesthouse. Gary and Diane are brilliant hosts and made us very welcome. We stayed in the Walla Crag room which was of a very high standard and had all the facilities that we needed. The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. We will definitely return in future and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cragwood, Manager at Cragwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was good to have you stay with us. Thanks for the comments about your room and your breakfast,- I love it when good food is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragwood Guesthouse

Address: 44 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cragwood is a beautifully appointed bed and breakfast offering high quality accommodation in the stunningly located North Lakeland town of Keswick: a real home from home. Cragwood offers three individually styled bedrooms with modern en-suite facilities. The spacious breakfast room is warm and welcoming, comfortably furnished and a relaxing space to start your day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragwood Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.