We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches in the lakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lakeland Sandwich Shop

The Lakeland Sandwich Shop
12 Station Street | CA12 5HP, Keswick, England
01768775220
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Soups, Sandwiches, cuisine.name.191
Dining options: Takeout, Street Food
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Street Food
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best sandwiches in the lakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always make a point of stopping off at this lovely sandwich shop whenever I am near. The fillings are lovely and there is a great choice; the prices aren't half bad either, especially for a tourist area. The staff are really nice and friendly and always tailor their service to the individual. Even my admittedly odd tastes in fillings are fulfilled with expertise. I love this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best sandwich shop in the Lakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Jan's lakeland sandwich shop is the ONLY place you should go for lunch when visiting Keswick, the staff are very friendly and the food is the highest quality. Wether you want just a simple sandwich, homemade soup or one of their daily specialties (made by Jan's fair hand) nothing is too much trouble. I would like to recommend the "New Yorker" for someone who enjoys a meaty feast it is a must try. Keep up the fantastic work and Thank You

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best little sandwich shop and staff in England!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is, I think, the best sandwich shop I have been in in England! The quality, quantity and extensive choice is amazing – I don’t know how they do it. Everything is freshly prepared on the premises, even the bread rolls.

There is always something hot including delicious soups, jacket potatoes, paninis, pies, cakes in addition to their huge range of sandwiches If there is something you would like in a sandwich/salad (how ever bizarre!) which is not on the menu, it is no trouble for the lovely friendly staff, including Jan (the wonderful cook, who has picked up a lot of her fantastic recipes on her exciting travels), Shelley, Angela, Jessica to name a few. They are all so very cheery (unlike the frosty reception I recently received in another establishment in town, which I shall not be returning to – I was more or less snarled at!).

They also operate a loyalty card scheme, whereby each time you buy a sandwich/salad your card is stamped and once you have ten stamps you receive a free sandwich!

I saw a negative review which mentioned having to queue out in the rain – simply ‘phone in your order and it will be ready and waiting for you.

I cannot believe the negative reviews on here, all I can say is who ever has written them must be extremely hard to please!

Thank you to you all for the continued excellent quality of food & friendly efficient service x

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it is the best sandwich shop in keswick with very helpful and friendly staff. there is a wide variety of sandwich fillings and they let you make your own sandwich up if you prefer something that isnt on the menu. it is very reasonably priced as it is made fresh to order with a wide selection of bread to choose from

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be, and getting very expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having used this shop for a number of years now, today was probably going to be my last visit. Two Ham sandwiches and a bottle of diet coke for £6.90 which given the coke £1.10 made the ham sandwich £2.90 each. £2.90 for a rather tough hard white teacake/bap and some very fatty ham so much so that my son could actually eat his as it was so poor.

Over the years we've noted this shop getting more and more expensive but they are starting to price themselves out of the market, if it wasn't that Greggs just around the corner was mass produced half filled rolls/sandwiches I really think most people would go there.

On a positive note though plenty of selection...

Please take note "Lakeland" and start to respect your customers again...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lakeland Sandwich Shop also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Lakeland Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lakeland Sandwich Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.