We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Friars

Ye Olde Friars
6-8 Market Square, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
+44 176.877.2234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Keswick
Type: Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located right in the heart of the Market Square, Ye Olde Friars has long been one of Keswick's iconic shops. Spread across four shop fronts and with over 1000 lines including chocolates, sweets, gifts and preserves, Friars is a must visit.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“love this shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Always call in here when in Keswick. Love the mixture of chocolates and traditional sweets. Great choice for gifts if you need to take some home and a treat for yourself!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surat Thani, Thailand
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Sweet sensation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This shop, which has been in Keswick for as long as I can remember, is simply amazing. Sweets, chocolates, biscuits, all manner of chutneys etc and not forgetting that Cumberland favourite -rum butter- all available at very reasonable prices.
I cannot imagine anyone going into this shop and coming out empty handed....I certainly don't!
Very helpful and friendly staff and even though it's always busy, you don't have to wait long to be served.
A must see attraction in Keswick ....right in the centre near the Moot Hall.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved coming to Keswick when I was younger and can always remember this shop! On the way home from Blackpool I decided to call in and have a wee look about. I love this shop to bits and have plenty of gifts and nice treats for yourself to suit all budgets. The chocolate and sweet treats are delicious and well worth the money. I also like how this shop retains the old fashioned look as this is what makes it unique and enjoyable to go and have a look.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

3rd year of visiting keswick. Always like to look around here and have some of my favourite Christmas decorations from ye olde friars. Always by treats to take home but very expensive for none special treats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sells my Dad's almost impossible to find but absolute favourite sweets so it's a good one!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Visited Friars when in Keswick recently. A sweet treat indeed!! Is there nothing they do not sell and I was absolutely delighted to find they sell fruit fondant creams which have become as rare as rocking horse poop but still remain my Dads favourite all time sweeties. On a plus side they offer online purchases too so that's my dads pressies sorted for a whole :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Friars also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Ye Olde Friars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Friars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.