We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch How

Birch How
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birch How
Save
You added Birch How to your Saves list
41 Brundholme Terrace, Station Rd, Keswick CA12 4NB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent weekend in Keswick made better by Carolyn and her wonderful guest house. Breakfast, room and location could not be faulted. Offsite parking was a godsend as parking limited in Keswick. We will definately return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night recently. We were given a warm and friendly welcome by the owner Carolyn. Our room was comfortable and contained all the neccessities and we had use of our own bathroom which was great. There is also room to park your car. The location of the B&B is fantastic as it is only a 30 second walk into the centre of Keswick and it is close to the local park and leisure centre. The full cooked breakfast was certainly a highlight! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited Birch How last year and found it so lovely that when we planned our walking trip this time we had no hesitation going back for a return visit. Carolyn is a wonderful, welcoming host; very lovely to talk to and nothing is too much trouble. We were doing a two day walk and she told us where we could park our car overnight until we arrived back in Keswick (and then we were able to park in the B&B yard). We love Birch How, centrally located opposite Fitz Park, this well looked-after old slate house has a traditional but light and airy feel about it, very warm and welcoming. We've tried two double ensuite rooms, each with their own character, fabulous showers and lovely fluffy towels. The beds are super comfy and the linen is the best. Warm and cosy after a hard day on the fells :) We love both the rooms; the front with slightly more space and room for a third person in a single bed, but apparently a bit noiser in high season (not that we noticed after our 10 mile walk). The breaksfasts are truly delicious, cooked to perfection and with a giant pot of fresh coffee to go with it we were set up for the day. Carolyn is an outdoor enthusiast herself and she can advise you on your walking plans and is keen to hear about your day when you return. She works very hard at keeping this place spotlessly clean and lovely. Carolyn also welcomes our doggy friends and shares her home with a beautiful Salouki who doesn't bat an eyelid at her canine guests. We will be returning to Birch How soon we hope, you needn't look any further than here for perfect Lakeland accommodation.

Room Tip: we love the front room with its view of the park. Apparently it can be noisier in high season but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Carolyn made my husband and myself very welcome (including our Yorkshire Terrier Leo)
Nothing too much trouble - The room was lovely overlooking the park (ideal for taking our dog our last thing at night). The location is ideal - just a short 2 minute walk into the town centre.
Lovely breakfast (fab perfectly cooked poached eggs for me).
We will definitely be staying at Birch How again

Room Tip: as for room on first floor overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnopfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

A soon as you arrive you receive a warm welcome from Carolyn who you feel you already know. It makes such a welcome change to stay somewhere our dogs are made to feel so at home because it was also their holiday. After we were shown to our room which was ideal for our Greyhound Danny who could not manage stairs we were introduced to Lucy so Danny and Grace were making new friends as well. The room was large, comfortuble and spotless. Breakfast was excellent and would set you up for the day, Joanne had the vegiterian option and said it was the best breakfast she has had. A little gem with a great central location within easy walking distance of the Derwentwater foreshore and the town centre. We would recomend Birch How to anyone espcially dog lovers. It's so nice to stay somewhere they are made to feel as welcome as the humans. We definatly be returning to Birch How to see Carolyn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a lovely week at Birch How towards the end of June 2012. It was very easy to find and is a short walk from the town centre with all of it's shops, pubs and restaurants. The room was lovely and clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was impressive and kept us going until lunchtime after a good morning's fell walking. Carolyn has extensive knowledge of the fells and was always happy to give us advice about the routes we had planned in our quest to 'bag the Wainwrights'. Keswick is a great base from which to explore the lake District and Birch How is an ideal place to stay in Keswick. We have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We received a great welcome to Keswick from Carolyn, our room was large and very comfortable and the breakfast would stand to you for the day!
We were in the Lake District on a climbing holiday and found that Carolyn had excellent local mountain knowledge that was really helpful.
I am looking forward to staying there again, the town is full of restaurants, pubs and interesting shops and Birch How is very central to everything with private parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birch How? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch How

Address: 41 Brundholme Terrace, Station Rd, Keswick CA12 4NB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch How, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.