We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howe great it is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Keld

Save Saved
You added Howe Keld to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howe Keld
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Howe great it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spotlessly clean and modern, very quiet, and you probably already have heard of the fabulous breakfast buffet: a large selection of cereals including homemade granola with choice of several fruit and nut toppings; juices and smoothies; selection of breads and croissant; a hot dish selection of about six choices (Salmon with scrambled egg on toast was my choice each morning.). The only drawback for me was that the single room I had, although efficient, would be a bit tight for two; the shower was the smallest I've ever seen requiring exiting to dry off; and since suitcases did not fit in the closet, they took up valuable floor space. David and Valerie are very nice and helpful in guiding guests to be able to take advantage of local activity and dining options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
122
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Howe Keld could not have been better! Clean and comfortable rooms, excellent service, charming hosts and fantastic food. There was tremendous attention to detail and a genuine desire to exceed our expectations. On our second morning they even remembered that I liked sweetner instead of sugar in my coffee and it was ready and waiting for us on our table! Also a great location for exploring the lakes and Scarfell is within pretty easy reach.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was lovely, but I imagine they are all pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I find reviews, by their nature, highly subjective so I want to state the basis for my ratings. First, my numerous ratings of B&B's (mostly in Europe) are based on comparisons with other similar B&B's. You certainly can't compare a typical European B&B with a New York Ritz Carlton suite, so when I rate a European B&B it's in comparison with other similar B&Bs. We look for B&B's that offer location, breakfast and cleanliness at a good value. We don't spend a lot of time in our room so things like TV's or game rooms have no value to us and aren't considered in our ratings.

The owners, David and Valerie, run a first class B&B. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable (you can go to their web site for virtual room tours). The B&B is very well located on a quiet street with easy walking access into the City of Keswick. The breakfasts were quite good. David and Valerie were very helpful and gave us several suggestions of places we should visit while in the area. We stayed there for a week and Keswick was a perfect place to home base while spending each day visiting different places and area of the gorgeous Lake District region. I like to explore and be on the go and initially I thought the Lake District would be too "low key" but it is such a beautiful and spectacular region with numerous places of interest that we needed a full week do to and see all the sites available. It turned out to be our favorite area in England. Parking can be tight and there are restrictions so make sure David explains what they are before you leave your car on the street overnight. There are some beautiful driving tours in the area and don't miss the Honister and Newlands Passes. Thrill rides! Also, be sure to see the Castlerigg Stone Circle. We went there during the day and it was just interesting but there were other people there so I went back at sunrise (my wife stayed in bed) and it was a magical experience seeing the sunrise over this 4,000 year old ancient stone circle all by myself. If you're staying in Keswick we highly recommend Howe Keld.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Howe Keld. The owners gave us very helpful tips about what to see, where to eat and how to go, marking on the map the highlights of the area and suggesting a bus tour rather than driving over the pass. Howe Keld is very convenient to everything, right beside the trail to the lake as well as to the underpass trail into town. The room itself, although one of their smallest, was still roomy enough for two and exceptionally clean. The breakfast was one of the best on our travels and the table was reserved so we knew we would not have to wait until someone vacated the dining area. The Internet access was very good. It was certainly one of the best B & B's we stayed in during our six week trip to Europe and three weeks in the UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

David and Valerie are excellent hosts who are keen to ensure you enjoy your stay, whether you're a walker or not. The hotel is bright, airy, comfortable and well furnished. The breakfast is excellent and definitely sets you up for a day's walking. They also have a car park! And they have plenty of information, leaflets, maps and and local knowledge to help with your stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a great 3 night stay at the Howe Keld. We stayed in Room 15 which is located on the top floor. The room was nice and spacious, had a fantastic bathroom with a separate bath and shower, perfect for relaxing in after a day on the hills. The bed was huge and had the softest bedding I've had away from home, which ensured a good nights sleep. We were given a warm welcome by David (who helped with parking up in the rather tight car park), this warm welcome extended inside the B&B where the whole building had a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. Everything felt fresh and was spotlessly clean from top to bottom. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food, all served by the helpful and pleasant staff, which helped to get your day off to a great start. Couldn't of asked for anything else, looks like we have stumbled upon a 'keeper' and we will be back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from our weekend away to the Lake District. We were all very impressed with our stay in Howe Keld our hosts David and Valerie were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are beautifully designed, spacious and impeccably clean. The beds are comfy with nice fluffy pillows and duvet. The breakfast is amazing and everything is neatly and freshly prepared, I particularly loved the freshly made smoothies and banana bread.

We hopefully will all hopefully return in the future and I definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howe Keld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Keld

Address: 5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howe Keld 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Keld offers quality B&B in a great location between Keswick town centre and Lake Derwentwater. It has been extended and completely refurbished and awarded Gold by the Visit Britain Hotel Inspector. Modern in design and tasteful in decoration and furnishing, emphasis has been placed upon providing spacious accommodation in most bedrooms. Parking is limited in the rear car park and available out the front along the Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Howe Keld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howe Keld Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Keld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.