We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Keld

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Keld
Save
You added Howe Keld to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at Howe Keld a number of times whilst in Keswick and we are always happy to return. It has a nice relaxing ambience and great location in the centre of town, meaning you can forget about the car when going in to town for eats/drinks. Parking can be a bit of a squeeze and may put some people off coming and going by car from the B&B during their stay, but it is do-able and is also off road which is good. That isn't a worry if you are doing walks from Keswick and the bus 'station' is less than 5mins walk away and some return buses stop right outside which is great. The owners are friendly and they obviously take great care and pride in maintaining the look and feel of the place (we have stayed in a number of rooms and they have all been very nice and well maintained) and as others have said, have a big lean towards all things green, renewable & sustainable. Breakfasts are lovely and prices are competitive. We will certainly be back, and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent five nights at Howe Keld in March. The hosts were friendly and very helpful recommending walks, restaurants, and answering transportation questions. Location is great...an easy walk to the heart of Keswick or to the Lake. The house had a nice, warm, naturalistic decor and was immaculate. I had a single room. The size was perfect for my needs. Breakfast was awesome too. Nice, quite place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Loved Keswick and my stay at Howe Keld!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

According to travel guru Rick Steves, Howe Keld is more small boutique hotel than Bed & Breakfast. I would have to agree. It's a beautiful place and every detail is well thought out, organized and efficient.

The owners are friendly and helpful and make every effort to keep their business green. They are happy to give advice on local attractions or make you a dinner reservation.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and make use of local wood and organic cotton. Amenities include free bottled water (recycled glass bottles), chocolates on your pillow, and local organic toiletries. And clean! We have never before encountered a B&B that uses sanitary labels on their toilets. You would be hard pressed to find one spec of dust in your room, and everything is in good working order. It's also very quiet, despite being in the town center.

The beds are incredibly comfortable and the breakfast is FANTASTIC (healthy, fresh, great quality, lots of options, and served quickly with a smile). Every hotel & guest house breakfast I've had since has dulled in comparison. For that matter, my own breakfast at home doesn't come close to being as good.

The only thing that could make this place perfect would be air conditioning, as we got quite hot during the night but had to close the window because we fell victims to the local midges. However, most people don't get as hot as we do and even 5 star hotels in Britain often don't have AC. (A fan was very kindly provided in our room). And the owners are certainly not responsible for the presence of midges in the Lake District.

I would stay at the Howe Keld over and over again. In fact, we're thinking of returning to the lovely Lake District so we can do just that!

Room Tip: Spring for one of the newly remodeled rooms. They're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here near the Bank Holiday weekend for 3 nights in one of the newer rooms. The location is excellent - Keswick is the perfect base for a first time visit to the Lake District. We were constantly surprised by the excellent service of David and Valerie. David, in particular, was very helpful in relation to recommending walks, restaurants and general things to do in the area. Breakfast is a high point - delicious and with some nice touches such as locally baked bread - all delivered with a smile and genuinely efficient service. My wife and I were very impressed.

The rooms themselves are just as good as what you would expect in a 4 star hotel, if not better. We joked that the flat screen television in our room at Howe Keld was bigger and better than that in our room in Inn on the Lake in Ullswater! Not that you'll need to use the TV - the Lake District contains some of the most spectacular scenery in the world.

The locally sourced shower gels and soaps are excellent as is the very powerful shower head! Everything is quality here - you will not be disappointed.

There is also a useful reading room with a plethora of books on the Lake District and other areas of England. You could do a lot worse than book this B&B. When we walked around the area we were very pleased with our choice. Thank you, David and Valerie for a pretty perfect stay. Oh and the beds...they were divine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Her in doors and I spent a lovely Easter weekend at Howe Keld. The B and B is in a great location between Keswick town centre and the lake side, our room was comfortable and breakfast was very tasty. As B and Bs go Howe Keld is quite large but we were made to feel extremely welcome throughout our stay and were constantly given helpful recommendations on things to do and places to eat.

We were fantastically lucky with the weather and we had a thoroughly enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a lovely weekend break during one of the coldest weekends in March. We were delayed due to the weather but received a very warm welcome when we finally made it. The accommodation was spotless and very tastefully decorated .As it was a birthday treat we stayed in a 'junior suite' ( room 15 I think). It was wonderfully warm and had plenty of room to sit and enjoy the view of Catbells in the distance. Also had a great bathroom suite with a powerful shower and a lovely deep bath. Breakfast was very tasty and well presented. The accommodation is handy for the town and a short walk to the Theatre by the Lake,if like us,you plan to enjoy a night out there. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The junior suite is at the front and has a good view of the mountains in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013, in room 11. The room size was perfect for a 4 night stay with space to sit and watch TV whilst it snowed outside! Great location for walking by the lake or into town, with some very useful restaurant recommendations from the owners. Breakfast is a real highlight, possibly the best breakfast I've ever had in B&B with home-made bread and granola, delicious full english or salmon, freshly made smoothie. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howe Keld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Keld

Address: 5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howe Keld 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Keld offers quality B&B in a great location between Keswick town centre and Lake Derwentwater. It has been extended and completely refurbished and awarded Gold by the Visit Britain Hotel Inspector. Modern in design and tasteful in decoration and furnishing, emphasis has been placed upon providing spacious accommodation in most bedrooms. Parking is limited in the rear car park and available out the front along the Heads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Keld Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Keld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.