We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Keld

Save Saved
You added Howe Keld to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Howe Keld
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights and loved it. Rooms were gorgeous and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. Location was great. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
122
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location
Fantastic breakfasts - both healthy and not-so-healthy options!
Tastefully decorated rooms - not your typical B&B chintz
Our room was a little small, but we booked late so got the last room remaining which was the smallest
Only downside was the parking (not enough spaces for all guests, leaving us to take our chances with the traffic wardens one night)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Thanks again to Dave and Val for another lovely stay at Howe Keld. We keep returning, like homing pigeons, because we love it so much! Perfect location, spotless rooms, comfy beds, tasty breakfasts and just a nice relaxing place to be with owners who genuinely care about their guests' comfort and well-being.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have lost track of the number of times I, with or without my wife, have stayed at HoweKeld. It is so well placed between the town centre and the Lakeside Theatre that I would not wish to stay anywhere else for the annual Jazz Festival! Over the years HoweKeld has grown bigger and even better. The charming hosts are very "eco-friendly" and the rooms have been transformed by the use of local slate and beechwood and the shower room is the tops. As Amanda and Liam say, "Breakfast was amazing" ,but so is everything elsse about HoweKeld.

Room Tip: Front of the house has magnificent view of the mountains including Catbells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Cannot fault this B&B.

Great hosts - so helpful in every way!!
Rooms were immaculate and very well decorated and spacious.
Ideal location for Keswick centre, far enough away not to be kept awake all night, close enough to walk into the centre.
Breakfast was amazing with a great choice of hot & cold food (I thought the pancakes were AMAZING whereas my other half preferred the full Cumbrian breakfast)

Room Tip: We stayed in luxury room 9. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for the jazz festival back in may and only just realised we did not leave a feed back, so remiss of us, as the couple who run it deserve the praise.
From initial email to leaving the whole experience went so smoothly, instantly felt relaxed and comfortable on arrival. Quality shows throught out, everything you come into contact with beds, linen, furniture and breakfasts all top notch.
enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARROGATE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here in August as a family. In our opinion, it is more suited to couples rather than families. Our room, which was booked as a family room was very small with very little room to manoeuvre between the two beds. The bathroom was spacious and we could have done with some of that space in the bedroom; so not very well proportioned for a family room. On reflection we should have complained at the time. My son has since referred to the room as a “prison cell”!

We should have also complained about the sweet wrappers that we found on the floor when we arrived.

We did not feel at ease at breakfast time and it was a case of eat the breakfast and up and leave as quickly as you can.

We still had a great time in Keswick but when we go next
time we'll choose somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidFisherKeswick, Owner at Howe Keld, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
This is the second report posted by the reviewer describing an alleged stay at Howe Keld by a family of three in August 2012.

Following a robust response to the first review in which we highlighted inaccuracies, inconsistencies and untruths, Trip Advisor removed it from the website.

We tried to contact the reviewer using Trip Advisor's internal email system to establish the exact date of the visit and the room number that was occupied. We have never received a reply.

Although the second review is milder in tone and less derogatory it differs little in content from the first. Instead of claiming they stayed for 4 nights in August they now do not specify the number of days. However our diary records still confirm that they did not stay in a family room at any time during July, August or September 2012.

In nearly 20 years of running a Guest House we have always welcomed families - we have even brought up our own daughters at Howe Keld. Although in general people realise that facilities in a Guest House are more limited than in many hotels, we nonetheless offer room 11 as family accommodation for 3. This works well. We can also offer ground floor room 2 for the same purpose but it is smaller and we will only do so after speaking directly to an interested party so we can describe the room in detail. We state this clearly on the website, show still photos and offer accurate virtual tours.

It is difficult to understand how a family of 3 can spend 4 nights in a room, experience the level of discomfort and dissatisfaction they describe and fail to bring it to our attention. If alerted we would have gone out of our way to resolve the situation even if that had meant finding alternative accommodation. Surely better that than having to spend 4 nights "in prison" as previously mentioned?

The comment about breakfast is inappropriate.

The sweet paper was not mentioned in the first review - it now appears for the first time.

We hope our readers will note the many positive comments recorded elsewhere and form their own opinion.

Our intention remains the same at Howe Keld - in however small our way we aim to provide a life affirming experience within accommodation that inspires.

David and Valerie Fisher (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howe Keld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Keld

Address: 5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howe Keld 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Keld offers quality B&B in a great location between Keswick town centre and Lake Derwentwater. It has been extended and completely refurbished and awarded Gold by the Visit Britain Hotel Inspector. Modern in design and tasteful in decoration and furnishing, emphasis has been placed upon providing spacious accommodation in most bedrooms. Parking is limited in the rear car park and available out the front along the Heads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Howe Keld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howe Keld Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Keld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.