We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Simplicity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howe Keld

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howe Keld
Save
You added Howe Keld to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Elegant Simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

One problem in writing a review regarding excellence is the likelihood of difficulty in re-booking because of the demand such a report generates.Howekeld has two awards by 'Enjoy England' for exceptional quality of accommodation and customer service, and the awards are truly merited.The refurbishment has resulted in a very tasteful use of high quality woods and slate giving the whole establishment a feeling of light and warmth.The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable with high quality T.V. picture and exceptionally effective shower. The breakfast is the most sumptuous matching any in a 5-star hotel. David and Valerie, the owners, are caring, kind and considerate,helping to make a visit to The Northern Lakes one to savour and remember.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the roadside are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
135
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Howe Keld, David & Valerie were the perfect hosts, our room was great, (Room 5 - Superior Double), the bed was really comfortable and the whole place was spotless.
Breakfast was a delight, lots of choices to cater for all tastes and the presentation of a choice of home made breads makes it even better.
We'll be back, sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Im amazed at the deluxe rooms in this B&B. Outside it looks like any of the scores of b&bs in Keswick but if you book a luxury room you get space, wood floors, water, flat screen tv, a bathroom with separate bath and shower and lovely toiletries.

The breakfasts are really great too, probably as good as any I've ever had, and your hosts are helpful, attentive and clearly very professional.

My very mild negatives: very difficult parking ( welcome to Keswick), noise from the drunken youth and the main road (double glazed units but conservation area sash windows) and dripping noise when it rains plus thin walls.

I'll definitely be back but I'd recommend a room facing the Heads to avoid the road and town noise and early arrival to snatch a parking space.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have stayed a number of times at Howe Keld over many years and it was another pleasant stay over 3 days in April, and we were lucky with the weather! We haven't been there for 2 years and won this trip through a facebook competition. The rooms are spacious, large double bed, comfortable, clean, modern and furnished to a very high standard, with just about everything you'd need including free wi-fi. The breakfasts can't be beaten and really set you up for a days walking. Excellent friendly hosts who can't do enough for you. Not a lot more I can say really, other than we very rarely re-visit a place, however Howe Keld is for us the place to stay when returning to Keswick and the Lakes.

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the rooms over the years and cant' fault any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I spent three nights at Howe Keld with friends shortly after Easter 2012. From arrival to departure everything was perfect. David and Valarie the hosts and their friendly staff couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable.
The rooms (we had a Luxury) were large with everyting you need in B and B accommodation with superb attention to detail and quality. Everything was well maitained and spotlessly clean.
There is an ethos of supporting the local economy and green issues which goes throughout the whole establishment which is refreshing.
Howe Keld is situated within a two minute walk of Keswick High Street and as there are parking spaces available at Howe Keld there is no need to venture out in the car for shopping or eating out.
We hopefully will return in the future and will definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are of any equally high standard perhaps only differing in their size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just returned today from a 3 day break in Howe Keld Keswick,we had a wonderful time and will most definetley return in the future, would recommend this accomodation to everyone .Everything was spotless, room was spacious location, perfect for both town and lakes etc.We have holidayed in keswick for over 25years and this is the best accomodation we have ever stayed in and the most delicious breakfast will set you up for the day however you intend to enjoy your stay in keswick.The owners and staff were lovely and very attentive to our every need really cant praise Howe Keld enough.Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: as you can see from website all rooms are exceptional clean ,modern etc with all the little added to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights at Howe Keld at the begining of March. We had one of the Luxury rooms which was very comfortable and is everything that you see on their website. I have to say the website is probably the best I have encountered for a small/madium B&B, in fact there's no point loading any photos as the 360 degree views of the rooms and the other photos do it much more justice.
Everyone was very friendly and the B&B is lovely with a great lounge to relax in and lots of excellent local and not so local travel books to read.
Breakfast was great with a nice choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurt etc. and a number of hot choices which you select the night before.
The B&B is in a great location for the town and the lake and has on-site parking as a bonus.
No negatives at all..... thanks for a great stay and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howe Keld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Keld

Address: 5 The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Howe Keld 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howe Keld offers quality B&B in a great location between Keswick town centre and Lake Derwentwater. It has been extended and completely refurbished and awarded Gold by the Visit Britain Hotel Inspector. Modern in design and tasteful in decoration and furnishing, emphasis has been placed upon providing spacious accommodation in most bedrooms. Parking is limited in the rear car park and available out the front along the Heads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Keld Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howe Keld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.