We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great coffee and stay at Fitz guesthouse Keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitz Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fitz Guest House to your Saves list
Fitz Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   47 Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great coffee and stay at Fitz guesthouse Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

THANKS FOR THE GREAT STAY and the coffee when i was walking the Cumbria way,
Its like you become a Keswicking!!! This place has a big Good room and the service in the morning to have an Enlish breakfast were very good. Thanks and see you soon again, From Ard karsten, beerbike Damtours - Amsterdam

Room Tip: ASK the price before and what is included into all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Fitz Guest House, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Ard was a lovely guest visiting Keswick alone from Amsterdam.
We love customers like Ard because he was laid back and easy going like us!
Come back again Ard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed one night in this B&B in our two weeks vacation trip around UK. I can not say anything bad about this place but can not say anything very good neither. We came around 6pm and Sophie's eldest son showed our room and gave us key. I asked him a few questions and we put our luggage into the room after that I wanted to get help about Keswick but I was not able to find anybody in this house. Next morning we had a breakfast and it was ordinary full English breakfast. My wife also noticed that bedsheets were with wrinkles, cleaned but not ironed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorsele, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

lovely B&B in het centre of Keswick, and still quiet
very friendly and helpfull owners
the most expensive B&B w've had this holiday (75 £/night)
we didn't need our car, we could visit Keswick starting at the B&B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great position in Town, comfortable room with a really good shower,which is often not the case with guest houses in Keswick
Sophie is has been said very charming, gave us a great cooked breakfast & we will be coming again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Fitz guest house is centrally located in beautiful Keswick. Sophie is a charming and helpful host, ably assisted by her little helper Anna. Freshly cooked hot breakfast was greatly enjoyed in a pleasant family atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were looking forward to this guest house but were very disappointed. We did not get the room we booked. There was no balcony with views of the garden as promised yet we were charged the full amount. The room was clean but very small with little furniture besides the bed. Our friends booked later and seemed to be given the room we were promised but were charged £30 more for it.
The cooked breakfast was poor. We were offered only bacon and eggs or vegetarian sausages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel H, Owner at Fitz Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I am always sorry when guests are unhappy and as this has never happened before I think somehow there has been a misunderstanding with the rooms. We only have two rooms and only one has a balcony which is why it was more expensive, also prices differ depending upon whether guests stay one night or two and whether it is a Saturday. Its usually best to call us directly for a better room deal than book through the internet actually. My breakfast is always well received as seen from all my previous reviews and unfortunately I only had vegetarian sausages in and not cumberland which I usually have so I am sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We knock the door on a Thursday late evening and Sophie showed us the room and made us feel home. Amazing wellcome from the family. Rooms perfectly clean, great shower, and amazing scrambled eggs with bacon! We coudn´t be more right by chosing this lovely place.

Room Tip: lovely balcony ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitz Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitz Guest House

Address: 47 Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitz Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitz Guest House is a stunng Victorian family run house in close proximity to Keswick Town Centre, Fitz Park and the leisure spa. It is also in a quiet area despite being so central as it is off the main road and noisy town centre. Fitz Guest House welcomes all ages and families are welcome as well as small dogs. There is a fantastic childrens play area in Fitz Park only minutes away which also includes tennis, football and pitch and put courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fitz Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitz Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.