We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic visit to our favourite little B&B !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brierholme Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brierholme Guest House to your Saves list
Brierholme Guest House
21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE PARKING & WI-FI
Ranked #2 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit to our favourite little B&B !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place- our little hidden treasure in Keswick. Gerry and Trevor are wonderful hosts and the place is warm, welcoming and spotlessly clean. Decor is lovely and the room we stayed in had been refurbed (no 5) and was even better than the first stay.Beautiful new shower and all the little extras that you could ever need. You think of everything Gerry !! We love staying here and would recommend to anyone wanting a central little haven with lovely breakfast ( as always) and lovely people. Thank you both for a well needed break for us two !! we will be seeing you soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
174
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited Keswick on 6th Dec for 3 nights and stayed at Brierholme again, as always a very warm welcome from Trevor and Gerry and the room was great, what can you say about Trevor`s breakfast, they are definitely worth getting up for, Gerry`s porridge is a local delicacy (so says my wife) it sets you up for the day.
Both Trevor and Gerry have a great local knowledge and can recommend some great days out as well as good eateries for the evening.
WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We visited Briarholme for 2 nights in October. Lovely friendly welcome on arrival. Bedroom was a good size with very nice en suite shower room and everything spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with good choice and served with a smile each morning. Brierholme is situated in a central position and so handy for restaurants etc. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently stayed at the Brierholme for two nights, our first visit. After reading comments on here I was expecting great things, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Gerry & Trevor were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room (Rm 2) with fantastic views, spotlessly clean and beautiful en suite shower. Breakfast was brilliant, best scrambled eggs I've had. Would definately
stay here again and no hesitation in recommending this gem of a b & b. Oh and a big bonus is your own parking space, a luxury in keswick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Brierholme last weekend - it was our first stay here - we were immediately welcomed and helped with car parking arrangements etc. Our room was very, very clean and spacious with the bonus of a lovely view of Cat Bells. The breakfast included a vast choice of fruit and cereals and a very good choice of cooked food. We often visit Keswick but now having discovered Brierholme will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for three nights in late October.

We were met with a very warm welcome from Gerry and headed up to our loft room. It was a good sized room with a brand new ensuite, sprinkled with all the luxuries you'd expect.

Throughout our stay we had three exceptional breakfasts, the service was fantastic and we WILL be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Brierholme for a few nights. We were determined to do the Lakes without a car, and certainly, Brierholme is ideal for this as it is a short walk from the centre of Keswick, Derwentwater and the bus station which links up with all of the key train stations.

We were made to feel extremely welcome and were very grateful of our hosts' knowledge of the area and the various walks available from the doorstep. They've got everything down to a fine art here: if you don't want a full English you can jot down what you fancy the night before in their notepad by the front door and there was fresh milk in a small fridge at the bottom of the stairs which you could pour into a little jug if you wanted proper milk in your tea in your room. The information in our room was also useful, from recommended walks through to personalised recommendations on where to eat.

Our room itself appeared to be newly decorated, with all the coziness you would want for a relaxing trip away plus a fantastic modern shower room.

If you do not know Keswick very well then we would recommend a stroll around Derwentwater - all pretty flat and easy going - or up Latrigg for something a little more challenging, which we had a great view of from the B&B. There are also some decent restaurants in town.

We were very sad to go and will certainly try to get back to the Lakes as soon as we can, and will be after a room at Brierholme! Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brierholme Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brierholme Guest House

Address: 21 Bank Street, Keswick CA12 5JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brierholme is just a 1 minute walk from the centre of Keswick. Private parking for all guests and secure storage for motorbikes and cycles. A warm and friendly welcome is assured as well as a delicious Cumbrian breakfast. Double and Twin rooms are available, all en-suite and there are splendid fell views from all rooms. Flat screen TVs, hairdryers, radio alarm clocks, individually controlled central heating, welcome trays. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brierholme Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brierholme Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.