We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location, Nice Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Location, Nice Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here with 2 young children in Feb 2014, yes the bedrooms could do with an update but for £70 a night including breakfast you can't complain at all. Rooms were spotless, staff very friendly, breakfast was lovely and location spot on. Parking is £8 overnight if you want to park in hotel garage, but you can easily get free on street parking around the doors, but £8 not that bad considering the car park immediately behind the hotel charges £3.70 for up to 3 hours! Would stay here again for definite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    66
    48
    24
See reviews for
28
111
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Queens Hotel last week as I was working in the area. Booked a single room @ 4pm on the web, & arrived at the hotel @ 1630h. Had to pay to park in the public car park. Room was on the small side, up in the rafters on the 3rd floor. On the small side but warm enough, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. Ate in the Cafe bar & stayed until 10pm when it closed.
Not bad for the £50.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

An original Hotel with a very good atmosphere. The room was very comfortable and for a winter break was comfortable with plenty of heating, except for the bathroom which was a little bracing. The staff were very friendly especially at breakfast. The Hotel does not make the best use of its history and location in the Lakes, but overall an excellent location and Keswick is the best base for this area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a short break for my wife's birthday late January 2014, all the staff we had contact with were both pleasant and helpful, although showing signs of age related wear and tear the room was clean, well presented, spacious and warm, and being located on the third floor gave excellent views of the main street/market square below and the surrounding mountains above the roof tops of the buildings opposite, the location is excellent, the front steps lead into the centre of the square with 10+ pubs/hotels within less than 2 minutes walk, all offering a varied range of cask ales and food.

The Hotel breakfast was good but with such a selection of local pubs/restaurants we ate somewhere different every day, non of which disappointed, as such we never tried any of the hotel dishes. The Hotel has secure undercover parking for a limited number of vehicles (check availability when booking) other than that it's pay and display public parking, a situation you find in most locations/market towns of this type where the majority of Hotels have no parking facilities at all.

A growing number of Hotels in the UK (this one included) limit the max volume on the room TV's, the 20 something engineer who sets this level is fine, when your ears are 50+ that's not much use, I have a sound meter on my phone, the kettle coming to the boil, the flush and the bathroom extract fan were all 25% louder than the TV at full ?, had a word at reception and they sorted it straight away, they didn't have access to the equipment to alter the set so they brought in another TV (as I said very helpful staff). This type of Hotel is unlikely to be frequented by the inconsiderate Hooray Henry types that leave everything at full blast, I would think the vast majority of their guests would be mature/middle aged plus, as such it would be an advantage to adjust the max volume settings accordingly.

Room Tip: Upper floor front facing rooms have excellent views, our stay was mid week and peaceful, with the nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

stayed here because we couldn't get through to bowness, the room was spotless, plenty of clean towels, kingsize bed, great central location, lovely freshly cooked breakfast in the morning, can't fault the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I decided to stay in Keswick without pre-booking a place to stay. The Queens hotel was a perfect last minute choice.

The receptionist was friendly and welcoming, the room impeccably clean.

The room was warm even though they had not been expecting a guest that evening and the water in the bathroom was hot without having to wait an age.

My room was at the back of the hotel over looking the public car park and the hills.

The furnishings in the room were shabby in a non-chic kind of way but it suited the room and the hotel, it also made me feel welcome as oppose to terrified I would inadvertently ruin something by putting a cup of tea down.

There were quirks that made me smile, the silver tea tray set out with cups and tea, to those quirks that made me laugh, the hair dryer being nowhere near the mirror and being unable to unplug it. As I am not that fussed about my hair it made no difference to me, and I presume those that see their hair as needing to be perfect would bring their own mirror.

The remote control for the tv was missing, I searched the drawers and under the dresser the tv was (that's how I know even the corners of the room were cleaned thoroughly). I rang reception and within minutes she had brought a remote to the room with apologies for the loss. She did not give me the impression it was a bother to her, it was more as if it were no trouble at all.

I would stay again and hope the receptionist and housekeeping team are thanked by the hotel owners for making an impromptu stay welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Staff very helpful , breakfast good value,room very clean,bar price reasonable. Enjoyed the visit. Be careful if using the public car park that you have credit for first thing the next morning charging starts again at 0800 hrs the car park attendant is waiting saw several cars receiving tickets!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Hotel is a traditional Hotel at the centre of Keswick in the heart of the English Lake District. With 35 well appointed rooms, and all modern conveniences it is the ideal starting point for a walking or touring holiday. Our friendly and helpful staff are waiting to welcome you. We look forward to making you stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.