We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked a overnight stay as a surprise for my partner on her birthday. Hotel was lovely and clean lovely room with street view and views ofthe hills. Really enjoyed the whole experience of staying there. The bar was good breakfast lovely. Rooms are good size we stayed in a superior room which was lovely. he location of the hotel is excellent and the staff very friendly. Would definatly go again

Room Tip: Ask for street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    66
    48
    24
See reviews for
28
111
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are some unfair and downright picky views on here so let me try and set the record straight.
The Queens is an excellent location with friendly staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and have nice little touches. The breakfast was plentiful and very well cooked with croissants, fruit, yoghurt etc. It is also a warm friendly ambience - honestly can't knock it as good value too!
The garage parking is ideal but make sure you boom in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife for one night in February 2013 and was worried by many of the adverse comments made.

This hotel is not as bad as many have made out. The hotel is in the process of being refurbished but the rooms are fairly old fashioned.

The good points are:

• Really friendly and helpful staff

• Beds in the rooms have recently been replaced; mine was large and first class.

• Reception and front bar areas are comfortable with leather seating

• Breakfast was good

• The garage at the back is quite handy @ £8 per night and saves worrying about pay and display charges; places are limited and should be booked in advance. Whoever stated the places are too narrow is asking too much - my Honda CRV fitted in easily!

• No cancellation charges if cancelled due to inclement weather – unusual in Keswick

Not so good:

• The bathroom was clean but is in need of a refurbishment

• The decoration in the bedroom needs updating

I believe this is all being planned.

Overall – reasonable value

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackppol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Queens Hotel ( superior room ) on a Thursday and Friday night in February. Whenever I stay in a Hotel I have expectations ( doesn't everyone ) that I don't have to start asking them to do the basics. If there is a serious problem that I find completely unacceptable ( something that could ruin my stay ) , then I will tell them during the stay. I didn't have to do that so that's good... my comments are based on my experience and expectations for a Hotel stay.

The good points :
- staff , very approachable friendly and helpful
- location, for us excellent. We like to be in the centre of things on an Evening , for restaurants and entertainment.
- parking. Yes its limited ( 8 spaces-ish I think ) , you have to book it and it costs £8 a day, but its worth it to me.
- open fire , nice lounge to sit in. Great !
- the Wifi worked OK for me.
- old, character Hotel. As mentioned by some other reviewers , a lot of original/individual features still there.
- view from the room, looking over the main street and in clear weather a view, over the roof tops, of the fells.
- bed big and comfortable !

Now not so good... mainly to do with the room
- tiredness of the room. It certainly needs updating. Its hard to say but it looks like it was an 80's bathroom at best. The carpets were a bit worn and threadbare and the lamps looked a little bit 'makeshift; , we couldn't figure out how to turn one of them on.
- the bathroom was no good really , it needs updating. When we had a shower ( after walking for the day ) at about 5pm , it was tepid and very weak. The grouting around the tiles was looking dirty and black in places.
- the toilet wailed like a banshee for 30 minutes after using it ( plumbing no doubt )
- the windows all dirty, bit of a shame as the view was excellent. It looked like water had run down inside the internal glazing, possibly an earlier leak from above ( it is possible to clean the internal glazing, inside and out , they can be opened from both ends ).
- some of the wallpaper was coming away from the wall.

Overall these things didn't spoil the stay, would we stay again ? Maybe but I would want to take a look over the room first. If they sorted the rooms out it would be pretty much job done !

I have seen other Hotel Managers respond to comments on Trip Advisor, and I always see that as a real positive way of taking onboard comments , that at the end of the day are only here to guide potential customers and Hotels to improve their service. I don't see any replies from Queens Hotel Management, which is a bit of a shame, and may be an indication of the owners approach for the future.

Room Tip: Ours was a superior room overlooking the main street with a view of the fells. Don;t expect anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We paid to much money for a drab hotel which promises WIFI. I was tolfd internet down all weekend.
Location was 5 star right in the town center, breakfast was ok firts morning service was slow but on the Sunday it was fine.
Parking is a problem It would be a must to get one off the 8 places the hotel has.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucknell, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A large old building with lots of stairs from top to bottom. There is a lift to all floors. The reception and front bar area are welcoming and the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. There is limited but good parking in the garage at the rear of the hotel and it was worth the extra £8 per night charge to ensure an ice and snow free car in the mornings.

Breakfast was very good but due to kitchen refurbishment there were no evening meals available.

Our standard room was large enough for a two night stay and was clean and warm. The view of Skiddaw from the window was stunning.

Leaving the hotel you step right into the pedestrian centre of Keswick with its quaint cobbled streets and shops with Derwent Water and the boats only a short stroll away. There is an excellent 'supermarket' called Booths which sells great deli products both hot and cold.

We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms 211 - 214 have a good view of Skiddaw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wanted a single night break in Keswick after New Year. Having looked at a few places, we decided on the Queens Hotel , even though there were some decidely poor reviews, as we wanted a central hotel.

Having stayed there, I can only think some reviewers were extremely unfair and even vindictive in their reviews. We booked a Double and a Single room and also car parking in the Garage.

In answer to some of the other reviews , the parking garage is spacious and more than enough room to get your car in and out of - and I drive a 4x4. If you have trouble getting in and out of the garage then I would question your driving competence, not the parking space. We arrived early and managed to park up at around 1:30pm and didn't need to leave the garage until 3 the following day - which meant we never had to pay any parking fees in the town at all - the £8 fee, which is clearly stated on the website and in the garage, was well worth the money.

Reception is smart and clean - no more dated than any other small town / country hotel these days, receptionists ( both) were very pleasant and welcoming.

The rooms are clean and pleasant, albeit somewhat individual, which we like instead of the usual plastic/cloned look and feel you get in all the major chain hotels. The bathroom was spacious , with plenty of Hot water.

Coat hooks were on the bathroom and bedroom doors, a modern, flat screen Philips TV in the room, kettle with a long enough lead to reach the socket on the sideboard, and coffee/tea/milk and biscuits provided along with Hairdryer.

Our room faced onto the main street and the "taxi rank" outdside, that some other reviewers complained about, consisted of 2-3 taxis occasionally which you couldn't hear through the double glazing.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent, cooked to order and a good choice of cooked and cold food. When we asked for something slightly different, there was no problem at all. So the cereals were in small boxes, as some previous reviewer complained about, at least that meant they were fresh unlike the soggy days old cereals I have had in some 4 star hotel chains previously.

Finally, this hotel is ideally placed in the centre of Keswick with plenty of pubs and restaurants within 200m in the town centre from Chinese, Thai, Indian, Italian, Mexican and the usually excellent pub meals available in over a dozen pubs along with a great fish and chip shop opposite the Moot Hall.This is a great place to stay and we are already looking at arranging another short break in the next few weeks.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Hotel is a traditional Hotel at the centre of Keswick in the heart of the English Lake District. With 35 well appointed rooms, and all modern conveniences it is the ideal starting point for a walking or touring holiday. Our friendly and helpful staff are waiting to welcome you. We look forward to making you stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.