We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keswick
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jane B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent venue for a get together!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our children planned this holiday for our ruby wedding anniversary as we all love the lakes. There were 2 children and 6 adults, the venue was fantastic, where everyone had their own area if they wanted to get away from each other! The house had everything we wanted and more. The views were fantastic and most of the walks we did were available from the house. The week we were there the weather was fantastic (which helped), in fact too hot on occasions! There is no umbrella on the terrace (which we found out from previous reviews) so took our own which was very helpful each night.
Yes the walk up from Keswick was hard, but also a good work out!! You do get a free parking ticket for the car park, which helps.
All in all a very good time was had by all.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, views, layout and comfort
Liked least: There was no dustpan and brush to sweep floors.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ken Smith
Solihull, West Midlands
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sylforyou
Middleton in Teesdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second visit - disappointed and let down by Lakes Cottage Holidays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After staying at Cloud End in 2012 and enjoying the beautiful house, scenery and high standard of presentation, we had no qualms about returning again this year to enjoy another family holiday with our two elderly mothers.
What a disappointment, we arrived at 3.05pm as our documentation stated we could gain access from 3pm onwards. The cleaner was still there but said she only had 10 minutes cleaning left to do. After she left we had a good look around and realised that the presentation of the property was not of the same standard as 2012.
It was dirty, nowhere had been vacuumed - the living room carpet had remains of biscuits and crisps, after 30 minutes vacuuming with the inadequate small attachment on the Dyson (all that was available) my brother-in-law found the large head for the vacuum wedged under a wardrobe - no wonder it was dirty, There were dirty underpants and socks in bedroom drawers and a charger left from previous occupants. The toilets were dirty and on the kitchen floor there was a garlic clove and a month's worth of dust etc behind the door. All the furniture looked like it hadn't been dusted for weeks. Four of our party spent a total of 10 hours cleaning to bring this property up to an acceptable standard.
Photos were taken, letters and documentation showing that arrival was from 3pm was sent to Lakes Cottage Holidays complaining. The final letter from Lakes Cottage Holidays basically called us liars, stating that we had arrived at 2.10pm (which was not true) and that our photos (which were all dated) were inconclusive. A shame that all their documentation didn't give the same access time to the property.
BEWARE OF LAKES COTTAGE HOLIDAYS, who manage this property, the cleaning is obviously done on a budget, and their complaint procedure is appalling. It is such a beautiful house with stunning views just badly managed by Lakes Cottage Holidays. What a shame, while Lakes Cottage Holidays have anything to do with the property we won't be returning again.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The dirty toilets and kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on this property.

We are sorry to hear that your stay at this property was not an enjoyable one.

We have investigated the issues you have raised above.

Our records show that you called the office at 4pm on the day of arrival to advise us that the floors and work surfaces in the kitchen were not clean. You were advised that we would contact the cleaner immediately and get her to return to the property to rectify any issues you may have had. You declined the offer and stated that you would carry out the cleaning yourself.

We discussed the issues you raised with the cleaner and we were informed that you had arrived at the property earlier than the normal 4pm check in. A copy of your booking confirmation has been sent to you for your information.

She also advised us that on arrival at the property you were unhappy to see that the cleaner was still there. Comments were made to the cleaner by members of your party, stating that she should not have been there when you arrived. The cleaner stated that you were welcome to stay in the lounge and have a cup of tea while she finished cleaning the kitchen. Another member of your party then suggested that you would go out for a drive while the cleaner finished her duties. At this point you decided that you were going to stay in and wait until the cleaner had finished. This situation can be difficult for the cleaner, when guests arrive early and are clearly unhappy that they are unable to fully occupy the property.

We were unable to help you resolve this problem as you refused for a cleaner to return to view the cleanliness issues you had.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and have fully investigated all the issues you have raised. A response to your complaint from our company and Managing Director have also been sent.

We are sorry for inconvenience caused during your stay and hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Leeds
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Stourbridge
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Essex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Hassocks West Sussex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,239
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
443308280775
Manager
Cottage Holiday Group
443308280775
Speaks English
Listed since : Sep 2014
Response Rate: 70 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing