We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely combined with a really special and delightful ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside
Save
You added Hillside to your Saves list
Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homely combined with a really special and delightful ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights as we were visiting for a wedding in St Johns in Keswick on the Saturday and we thought we would like to have a short break too whilst we were there.
It was everything we could have wished. Eleanor is a lovely host, not at all intrusive but gave great advice regarding the area and truly made us feel more like friends than guests.
She has created a warm and inviting B&B which was spotlessly clean and also quite luxurious making her guests feel positively, pampered.
Partly thanks to her local knowledge, our luck with the weather and the proximity of a great local pub the Farmers Arms and the easy access to whole days entertainment of a trip on the Keswick launch we were able to cram in so much we feel we have been away for ages.
If you like delicious local sourced food and a relaxing trip to a beautiful area you will not find a better B&B our view and I would not hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: I would maybe pay a little extra for Skiddaw but Latrigg was perfectly adequate for us and you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hillside. We were made most welcome with coffee and cakes. The room was fabulous. Ensuite bathroom and a shower room. Comfy bed, spotless,endless hotwater. Great. The breakfast, well, nothing was omitted. It was delicious. The garden is beautiful and the views are magnificent. The owners are friendly, chatty and relaxed. Hillside is dog friendly but if you are not, you wouldnt be offended. Chickens in the garden, perfect. See you in November.

Room Tip: It doesnt matter, one room has a shower, one room has both bath and shower. There is another room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Eleanor and Phil made sure our stay at Hillside was perfect from the moment we arrived.
The room we stayed in (Latrig)had a tv, huge bed and lots of storage space for our clothes. The en suite was equipped with a powerful shower which was lovely after a long day of walking! Also, the view of the fells, Latrig and Skiddaw, to wake up to each day was truly spectacular.
In the morning breakfast was a real feast: yoghurts, cereals, and a huge cooked breakfast (mine was vegetarian which was arranged via email) and tea and coffee were refilled as many times as we requested.
Although we didn't bring our pet, pets were allowed so next time we'll be bringing our labrador!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Been going to the Lake District for 10 years now on breaks and holidays and found Hillside to be the best B&B we have stayed in up to now.
I have paid 50% more than the hillside rates for rooms that were not up to the standard and cleanliness of Hillside B&b.
A Proper Cumbrian breakfast sets you up for the fells and the owners are very friendly and informative.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Really pleased we chose to stay at Hillside, the views are every bit as stunning as the pictures show. Eleanor and Phil are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful. The bed in our room was sooo comfy and the bedding extremely clean as was the bathroom and towels. Loved having a big fluffy dressing gown to wrap up in although it was very warm during our stay - end July 2013
Fresh flowers in the room was a lovely touch. The walk into Keswick is really pleasant and literally a 5 minute drive for those not able to walk.
Only negative I can think of is the traffic noise from the busy A66, this is not a major problem but as it was so hot when we stayed we had to have the windows open, when closed it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here Friday 25th July. Best room we have stayed in in the Lakes. Elanor was great and she couldn't do enough for you. We had a dog and it wasn't a problem. Views from the room of Skiddaw were to die for . Will be booking again The breakfast and gardens are great and you are made really welcome.

Steve ,Uue and Dylan the dog

Room Tip: Skiddaw room no1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Fabulous hosts, very welcoming and convenient for our walk along the Cumbria Way. Our Latrigg room was very comfortable with excellent facilities, a lovely shower and a great view of Skiddaw and Latrigg. We arrived late after a long day so Phil and Eleanor even phoned the nearby (4 mins on foot) Farmers Arms to book a table for our evening meal. After a good nights sleep breakfast was cooked to order, piping hot and very good. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Any room at Hillside is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside

Address: Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.