We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food great service don't miss this place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treeby & Bolton Cafe

Treeby & Bolton Cafe
Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5BX, England
+44 17687 72443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: An art gallery with a difference, Treeby & Bolton houses a wide range of contemporary art, fine china and glass alongside unique gifts and interiors. Situated downstairs from the gallery, the cafe is stylish and contemporary and offers a tempting selection of cakes, light bites and world class coffee.A delicious range of cakes, bakes, and homemade scones served with jam and cream make the perfect tea-time treat. For lunch try Treeby's signature platters of local meats, fish or cheese, a tasty hot pie or a fluffy omelette. Enjoy your favourite coffee made with Square Mile’s Red Brick Espresso - now available to take out.
Cockermouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food great service don't miss this place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had another great meal here ~so cosy on a windy superb service and they even wrapped what I couldn't eat to take with me

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    41
    12
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hidden in the rear of a nice Gallery. This delightful cafe has never disappointed when visiting.
Lovely homemade soups and a selection of special food boards serving either prawns/fish or cooked meat. The smoked duck was particularly good.
If you're not too full after breakfast you can always fit one of the ravishing home made cakes on display.
Look forward to returning soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreebyBolton, Owner at Treeby & Bolton Cafe, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes for the New Year.

Libbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely dissapointed today”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My family and I walked a very long way today and the reward at the end of our walk was to visit here for lunch ,coffee and cake which we have often enjoyed. However today we visited and experienced dreadful coffee and dirty glasses. My husband ordered an Americano which was like dish water... On returning the coffee another one was delivered exactly the same. My daughter had an elderflower which was plonked down on the table in a dirty glass . I tried to talk to the lady who was making the coffees to explain that the coffee which is usually good here ,that it wasn't right. A lady from the kitchen told her to make me another but she refused as she said she had already made two .... I appreciate that on a busy day things can get a tad hectic but being in the coffee trade myself I wouldn't have brushed off a customers concerns. People work hard for a living and expect good service and products when paying for them . However on going upstairs to buy a couple of mugs for my mum the lady who served me was extremely helpful and went out of her way to help me ..... If I can give you any advice please check the grind of your coffee beans as it is probably too coarse hence dishwater coffee with no crema or taste

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Treeby & Bolton Cafe, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to feedback - we take pride in our coffee and our grind weight and consistency are checked and recorded daily along with the percolate time through the machine. Regretfully an obstruction had occurred in the grinder that day which caused an issue with the coffee consistency - I can only apologise that this was not picked up sooner and hope that you will come back and visit us next time you're in Keswick.

Best wishes - Libbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Its profit first”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Called in for a bite of lunch, the food was nicely presented and served really fast but it just tasted average, things put on a plate, that’s why it was fast I guess. The tables were so close together that you had to squeeze between the tables sideways whilst apologising to other, already seated customers as you went. No place to put your coat so an agreement was need with the next person about space sharing. Wouldn't fancy it on a wet day which narrows it down in Keswick. The toilets were unisex and once inside the first door I was in a small waiting area with a total stranger awaiting my turn with an uncomfortable silence avoiding eye to eye contact. Maybe if this place was designed for the comfort of the customer and not to pack in as many people as possible it would be better. Larger and more appropriate toilet facilities at the expense of sacrificing a couple of tables and a cloak room would have been good but there is little doubt that profit is the overbidding business objective here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect location and unusual setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

On approaching this venue if you are in the Main street you can miss the café as you can be misled by the gallery. On entering the café at side of gallery you realise what a delightful venue this is. They ask you to find a seat and then order from the counter and the food is then bought to your table. On approaching the counter you may feel you need to change your mind as you browse the attractive cakes etc on display Food is excellent and very good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treeby & Bolton Cafe also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Treeby & Bolton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treeby & Bolton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.