We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cafe under a great gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treeby & Bolton Cafe

Treeby & Bolton Cafe
Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5BX, England
+44 17687 72443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 111 restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: An art gallery with a difference, Treeby & Bolton houses a wide range of contemporary art, fine china and glass alongside unique gifts and interiors. Situated downstairs from the gallery, the cafe is stylish and contemporary and offers a tempting selection of cakes, light bites and world class coffee.A delicious range of cakes, bakes, and homemade scones served with jam and cream make the perfect tea-time treat. For lunch try Treeby's signature platters of local meats, fish or cheese, a tasty hot pie or a fluffy omelette. Enjoy your favourite coffee made with Square Mile’s Red Brick Espresso - now available to take out.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe under a great gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The food here is very special for a 'fast food' cafe, almost full when we arrived at around 1 O'clock service was fast and efficient. Making 'Coronation Chicken' appear different takes some doing but this was easily achieved with some panache. The puddings looked good, but with a meal booked in the evening we had to pass on the lemon meringue. Coffee in plunger cafetiere was also good. Will have to return without the planned evening meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    85
    30
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We used Treeby's last November and were impressed. Made a special effort to revisit on a miserablely wet September day and were disappointed this time. The cake and coffees were OK but what spoilt it was the impatience and coolness to the point of frostyness of the Staff. They could take some lessons from the Staff in our favourite cafes in our home town of Scarborough (see my other reviews).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Treeby & Bolton Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your most recent visit and appreciate you taking the time to review – we have taken on board your comments and will address this in our training. This said I would implore you (and all of our customers) to ask to speak to the manager if you have any issues or comments that would make managing our business more efficient/customer friendly etc.

We do try very hard, and our team works very hard - and whilst we take all feedback seriously and it can be difficult to remedy some issues after the day (particularly if the date of the visit isn’t mentioned). So please, if you have the time and the patience we really would welcome the opportunity to speak with all our customers in person.

We hope you come back and give us another go.

Best wishes,
Libbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stopped off for cake and coffee - excellent selection of both. Service was also really good, despite taking a while to choose what we wanted (selection is just too good!). Scones are lovely and cakes are huge - one of the group had the largest piece of carrot cake imaginable. Lots of locally sources food as well - a real find!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Been to this cafe a couple of times, located below a lovely gallery and gift shop which is well worth a visit. Good choice on the menu and friendly efficient staff, lots of food and drinks locally sourced. Portions are generous and well presented. Only complaint was that we had a bit of a battle with the bread when we were trying to cut it, but it was worth the effort. Not the cheapest but worth it for the quality of the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Cakes to rival Chesters near Ambleside. Highly recommended. Best in Keswick for cakes and teas. Will be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue H, Owner at Treeby & Bolton Cafe, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to recommend us - we're delighted you enjoyed tea and cakes and look forward to seeing you again. Great pics too!

Best wishes,
Libbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treeby & Bolton Cafe also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Treeby & Bolton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treeby & Bolton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.