We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unresponsive hotel management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Skiddaw Hotel to your Saves list
The Skiddaw Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unresponsive hotel management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

A two day break in a Summit room seemed relaxing and ideal. The hotel was old fashioned but clean. The room was acceptable apart from the fans just outside the window which rumbled and clanked all night keeping us awake. A complaint to reception the next morning resulted in an apology and an explanation that the fans, for the kitchen refrigerator, should have been switched off when the chefs finished work for the night. We were assured it would not happen again. Before going to bed on night two we reminded reception and the hotel manager and were assured it would not happen again! Guess what? Another sleepless night listening to fans! In the morning the receptionist was again apologetic but the manager was unavailable. I asked that he rang me when he was available. That night another receptionist rang me at home, apologised and said that on behalf of the manager she could offer me a nights accomodation. What ever happened to customer contact by management. Definitely not staying there again!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    147
    56
    29
    17
See reviews for
54
267
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We had our wedding in the skiddaw hotel in october . some of our close friends and family joined us for the weekend.I could not fault it from beggining to end what a fabulous time.The hotel manager Kevin was friendly proffessional and well orgainised he never stopped the whole time we were there and could not have been anymore helpfull,he was fantastic ,along with the rest of his staff.The food and accomodation were excellant .The only one small fault was my elderly aunt and uncles room was to near the nightclub next door they found it a little bit to noisey ,but hay you carnt please everyone.I would recommend it to anyone.thankyou to everyone .

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Spent the Christmas break at the Skiddaw. Whilst the food was good and the hotel to a good standard the noise was unbearable. We had been upgraded to a front room but wish we hadn't. It looked over the square and was unbelievably noisy. There is a nightclub attached to the hotel which doesn't shut until 3 and then people start to wait in the square for taxis. As they are by then drunk they spent their waiting time shouting and swearing.

On the Saturday there is a market and from very early on they start erecting the stands. We wondered why ear plugs were left at the side of our bedside table the evening before!!!!

On leaving and being asked if we had had an enjoyable stay I mentioned the noise and was told it was nothing to do with them and they couldn't do anything about it. As they actually own the nightclub I feel this is somewhat passing the buck.

Wouldn't return until they have triple glazing.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Popped into town for a weekend night and some locals recommended we stay here. Glad we did!

Friendly staff, great breakfast included, and a great location!

Some other lake distict hotels were so shabby and run down. Not this one though. We were given our choice of rooms and we picked the most modern. It was a nice treat right in the heart of town!

  • Liked — location, staff, cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Booked the weekend break deal including breakfast and evening meals.
The food and waiting staff were great, the thing that ruined the break was the noise from their function room followed by the noise from the joining night club until 3am!!!!

When booking we were not told we were above a function room and we were not told that a function was booked in on the Saturday night, the level of noise was louder that the TV in the room and kept my family awake until 12:30 am, that was then followed by repeated bass music from the night club joined to the back of the hotel.

I paid for the first night, which was peaceful but refused to pay for the second. The rooms are also dated and in need of a lick of paint.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

The Skiddaw is an old world type hotel with modern bedrooms and friendly staff the breakfast is one to stop you eating for the rest of the day it is that big all in all a good value base to get into the lakes

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We have just come back from the Skiddaw, our second visit this year. I have previously posted that this, in my opinion, is the best hotel in Keswick and my opinion has not changed.
Ideally situated in the centre of Keswick, great if you just want to browse round the shops, enjoy walking in the hills or exploring further afield. It is within easy walking distance of Lake Derwent.

The staff at The Skiddaw continue to be a great team of the highest standard, nothing is too much trouble, all professional, friendly, helpful and polite.
There have been many changes over the years that we have stayed here all to improve the hotel - well it has all come together nicely resulting in a hotel that has modern rooms that are beautifully and individually decorated. The bar and restaurant have been newly redecorated too.
The recently completed conservatory is lovely and is an absolute bonus, great to grab a glass of fizz , sit back and just watch the world go by.

  • Liked — Great service. Great location. Love the conservatory
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skiddaw Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.