We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the centre of things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Skiddaw Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Skiddaw Hotel to your Saves list
The Skiddaw Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In the centre of things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just stayed one night, on spec., and was totally satisfied. Comfortable room, great bathroom, excellent breakfast rapidly presented. Location is ideal for the town - you are in it - and car parking arrangements are ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear John T

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope you will be back to enjoy another lovely stay soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    136
    49
    28
    15
See reviews for
49
243
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Overall Keswick is an incredible place to stay, the Skiddaw Hotel is brilliantly located however the overall experience had a little less to be desired.

The room was well furnished but it was rather small, it was not easy to get ready with 2 suitcases in the room. It also incredibly hot, which can cause some difficulty trying to sleep.

Breakfast was good and the dinner was up and down. Good starter for both my boyfriend and I, however the mains were not so good.
I ordered the steak which was cooked very well,, but the standard vegetables you get were boring and bland. My boyfriend order the lamb, it looked like cat food and tasted like school dinners.

The redeeming fact was that the staff were very nice and friendly. I am not sure if I would come back, but it was a good base to go for walks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear EllaDarling5

I am glad that you ejoyed your hoilday in Keswick, I agree it is an incredible place. I am also glad that you enjoyed most of your stay and hope that you will stay with us again. I hope and trust that next time you will leave with only positive memories.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at The Skiddaw Hotel and was very impressed. All very clean and tidy, centrally located in the town and the staff were very friendly/helpful. En-suite bathroom was recently refurbished to a high standard. Full English breakfast was good too. If I went back to the Lakes, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Richylucas

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at The Skiddaw Hotel. I am very pleased that you had such a lovely time and hope that you are able to visit the Lakes again soon.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband and another couple. We chose the Skiddaw for its central location. We both had double rooms overlooking a side street, the rooms were small and the décor was very old fashioned. However, the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room and the bathroom looked like it had recently been refurbished, very clean with fluffy towels, good shower and nice little amenities.

Breakfast the next day was probably below average as cooked breakfasts go and the room was so hot it was ridiculous!

You can park in the main car park at the back of the hotel and they give you a pass to put in your car so you don't need to pay.

My only complaint is the strange thing that happened when we checked out........I went back to our room to collect a couple of tops that I had left in the wardrobe (the maid must have gone straight in and found them so rang reception to let me know) when I got back to the room she took me into our friends room and told me they had been smoking in the room. I have a number of issues with being told off by the maid.
1. they were not smoking and they will be writing to complain about being accused of this when they were not there to defend themselves.
2. that wasn't my room so its nothing to do with me and I don't appreciate being marched into someone else's room and told off for something I know nothing about.
3. nothing was said at the desk as we checked out so why accuse me when I went up there.
4. I believe the maid wanted me to offer her money so that she wouldn't charge me as she kept saying there was a £100 fine for smoking and kept repeating herself.

Im disgusted at being treated like this after we had spent an overpriced night at a hotel clearly only able to charge these prices due to its location. I have stayed in far better hotels/B&B's in Keswick a lot cheaper such as the Keswick Park Hotel and the Babbling Brook Guest House.

This review would have been far better had the maid not ruined it for us on check out. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Terri Anne E

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very glad that said you enjoyed most of your stay, until after checking out.

I must confess my surprise at the incident you experienced as the "telling off" you mentioned was recalled very differently by the housekeeper who spoke to you after she found your clothes which had been left behind. She mentioned the smoking in the room as she was in that room when you fetched the clothes from her and were talking about it and she knew that you were friends with the people who were in that room. The lady in question is VERY chatty and mentioned the smoking as it is illegal and mentioned the £100 charge but was trying to make the point that as the smell wasn't very strong, it won't be a problem and not worth mentioning to reception. I am sorry that you were disgusted and can assure you that this was not the intention of the lady you spoke with. She is one of the friendliest people I know and was quite upset when I told her of the upset that she had caused. The suggestion that she wanted you to give her some money is ..... just wrong.

I am sorry that you left feeling upset that you didn't experience the same friendliness for which we are well known and which most other guests have commented on on this site.

Kind regards

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ate in the Restaurant, after just walking in to Hotel on a Saturday night. We were given a table after a few minutes and from start to the finish of the meal we treat like royalty. The food was excellent and plentiful and the staff all were attentive helpful, all with smiles on their faces.
Thank you well done we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear JillandMal

I am very glad you enjoyed your meal here and have taken the time to pass on your experiences. I am fortunate enough to work with a very good team who work well together and it shows.

Thank you

Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Been to Keswick and stayed at the Skiddaw hotel .The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful .Very clean and the food was excellent. The room was great.Entertainment on Friday and Saturday was good. Stayed here before and it was nice to see familiar faces among the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear HCWHolmes

I am very glad that you have had another very enjoyable stay with us. As nice as it is for you to see familiar faces, myself and the other staff also love seeing and chatting to guests who have visited before. Our Friday and Saturday night music continues to get more and more popular and will continue throughout the winter. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

One of the few Hotels in Keswick that allow dogs to stay.
Lovely people and very comfortable, Joe the Beagle loved his first holiday.
Thanks for looking after my bike.
Hotel is ideally located although can get noisy at the weekend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiddawGM, General Manager at The Skiddaw Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear JamesMKemp and Beagle

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay here at the Skiddaw Hotel. It certainly was our pleasure looking after your bike and defintely a pleasure to have Beagle stay with us too. It's not just The Skiddaw, the whole town of Keswick is such a dog friendly town with most shops welcoming dogs and an abundance of beautiful areas to walk dogs within the town.

Kind regards
Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Skiddaw Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Skiddaw Hotel

Address: Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Skiddaw Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque market square of Keswick, this hotel is the ideal base to enjoy the area and all it has to offer with stunning lakes and fells on the doorstep. Be welcomed by friendly and attentive staff and enjoy comfortable bedrooms including several family suites and feature rooms. Delicious food is served all day in the conservatory overlooking the square and the cosy lounge bar. In 31 The Square restaurant enjoy the best local ingredients freshly prepared by Head Chef and his team. There is also a quiet resident's lounge and function room. Free parking and WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Skiddaw Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Skiddaw Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.