We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange Country House
Save
You added The Grange Country House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Manor Brow | Ambleside Rd, Keswick CA12 4BA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Wifi Free Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

First time at The Grange but it won't be our last. Breakfast was something to look forward to & it never disappointed. Our room was perfect .. comfortable & cosy. Everyone was helpful & friendly without being intrusive. I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
220
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

If you're ever in Keswick, or the Lake District in general then put this fabulous Guest House at the top of your list of places to stay. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home in the splendid surroundings by the welcoming and informative staff. The room we chose to book (room 5) was magnificently presented and the views from the double aspect windows were incredible! The breakfast consists of a cold buffet (the usual cereals, fruit, yoghurt and CAKE!!!) followed by a wonderous cooked feast of your choosing (try the Smoked Salmon with scrambled eggs...YUM!) The walk into Keswick town centre takes around 10 minutes down a steep hill so don't eat too much in town if you want to avoid compete collapse on the hike back up again!!! Brilliant place, highly recommended...we will go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Second visit to this quiet hotel. It was as good as we remembered. Lovely quiet location, the whole experience has that touch of 5 star class, at affordable prices. Can't wait to visit again. Would highly recommend to others planning a stay in the northern lake district.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Booked via laterooms so didn't know which room we were getting but on arrival we were shown to room number 5, and lovely it was to, room was nice and big which is rare for the Lakes. Views were fantastic could just sit in the room and look out all day. Staff were really friendly and attentive. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I recently stayed in the grange with my girlfriend for a valentines break. I booked it a month or so before and organised with Sally the owner to have champagne and flowers in the room ready for our arrival, she couldn't do enough for me and nothing was too much trouble! Even down the stipulating the type of flowers I wanted! The location was amazing, a short walk to the centre and right amongst the stunning views of the lakes! The room was first class and deserved of the 5 star rating this guest house owns. The breakfast in the morning was loal produce and fresh and along with te service received from the waitress was top notch! Would definitely stay here again and recommend no problem!! Thanks Sally!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

A Fine establishment, 10 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick, and in the heart of the Lake district.
The most comfortable bed i've ever slept in - and staff that cannot do enough for. The breakfast was lovely as a treat visually- it must have taken hours to prepare that fruit salad!
Quite simply the best place i've stayed in The lake district.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My husband and I were meeting family in Keswick and decided to stay over. We arrived slightly before our room was ready so we enjoyed a bottle of wine sat out on the patio looking out, the views and scenery are beautiful and the gardens are idyllic!

The room was relatively small but the furnishings were of good quality and the decor was tasteful and to a very high standard. The bed was very comfy and we were made to feel extremely welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious with a good choice of hot food and cereals.

I would definitely recommend the hotel. It's far enough out of Keswick town to have a quiet stay but close enough to walk into the centre within 10 mins. Ideal!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grange Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Country House

Address: Manor Brow | Ambleside Rd, Keswick CA12 4BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grange Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian home in lovely setting overlooking the fells. Excellent breakfast with lots of choices - fresh fruit salads,local bacon and Cumberland sausage. Plenty of safe, off-street parking. Lovely decor, great quality extras in all the rooms. Super en-suite facilities with either Mira electric showers or a bath with shower cradle. FREE WIFI. Interesting local artwork to peruse, Stylish bedrooms with good outlooks over fells or gardens supplied with quality linens and accessories. Flat screen televisions and free Wifi in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Country House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.