We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laura in the Lakes

Laura in the Lakes
Main Street, Keswick CA12 5DS, England
01768775050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 114 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

we've been here a couple of times while holidaying in the lakes. for a small cafe there is a good range of food freshly prepared. also a good kids menu of good value.
we had a cheese ploughmans which was lovely. we then stayed on for a delicious cream tea. the service was good to and with a smile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service with a smile in the Lakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped in here for lunch and we enjoyed lovely hot freshly prepared jacket potatoes with a generous salad and tasty home made coleslaw. The prices are very reasonable and the service excellent. The mum and daughter led team were very pleasant, helpful and cheerful. An added bonus was that there was a gluten free option available in the cake selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went for lunch on a warm but rainy day in Keswick. Had a cheese baguette which was lovely. My mum had a coronation chicken sandwich which she said was very nice. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Could have done with a bit of insect repellent though! About ten flies buzzing round a very small space. not very pleasant. Also came out smelling of chip fat, strange considering they don't sell chips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Came across Laura in the Lakes on a wet Monday lunch time, nice menu pleasant staff and Tiffen to die for, basically its simple food done well, served by pleasant knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely smiley staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were in the Lake District on holiday. Stopped here for lunch as menu was extensive!!

Tasty soup and panni deal which was great value and filling. Plus yummy coronation chicken jacket potato.

Staff work at great speed in a very busy cafe but do it with a smile.

Would go back if we were ever in town again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShepherdessKeswick, Owner at Laura in the Lakes, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we value your positive comments especially at this very busy time of the year, Laura x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura in the Lakes also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Laura in the Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laura in the Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.