We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza but not the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstone Pizza and Grill

Woodstone Pizza and Grill
St John Street, Keswick, England
+44 17687 73523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Pizza, International, Persian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good pizza but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Just had one of the pizza's from the woodstone, nice friendly staff both we both ordered a pizza, while they where nice, I always rate the pizza's based on the best Italian restaurant around the north of England, Dessandro's near huddersfield.
If you think woodstone pizza's are the best then really sorry but you have not lived.
If you are ever on the m62 get off at the Ainley top roundabout and it's about 100 yards from the roundabout as you head into Huddersfield, never been anywhere that compares as good as Dessandro's

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    94
    29
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family friendly and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited Monday after half term with 4 year old and grandparents having had recommendations before from said grandparents and friends. Made welcome from the start with polite interested staff and owners. Service was impeccable - we were the first in - and the food outshone that: the quality of the ingredients and care in preparation sang through in the meals we were delivered (can highly recommend the chicken and lamb kebab!). To top it off as our son took interest in the pizza being prepared the head chef promptly asked him if he'd like to make one himself and duly provided dough, sauce, cheese and a variety of toppings together with a rolling pin - he loved it (he wasn't even having pizza) and so did we. At £6.50 for a children's meal with a proper drink and dessert to throw in a cookery lesson was an nice touch and will bring us back again. Clean plates all round for the adults and honourable son #1 had dinner to go! Thank you to all concerned - you deserve more than the four stars you have and so this has inspired our first ever Trip Advisor review.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Came to the Woodstove on Sunday for an evening meal. We couldnt fault it! The food was so tasty, I tried the special kebab marinated and my husband had the fillet steak. Both were delicious, cooked to perfection. We finished with the ice cream which was also to die for! Best meal we have had in a long time.
Special Hi to our waitress Laura. Excellent service.
Will definately return and recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a very nice meal here on a recent visit to Keswick but it certainly wasn't cheap in comparison to similar establishments. However, service was excellent and the quality and presentation of the food likewise.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Superb pizza - bellissimo !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The pizza here was as good as I could have imagined. I asked for it to be as thin as possible and it was. It was crispy too with a crispy bottom too (I hate soggy bottoms on pizzas). The toppings I chose myself: anchovies, salami, mixed peppers, garlic and olives ! It was stunning. We sat opposite the oven so watched it cooking inside which was fun. The starter of a mixed kebab was very good too. Beautiful chargrilled chicken & lamb. We had a small garlic bread with an aubergine dip too. Our favourite meal all weekend. The staff were so friendly - all young - teens & early 20s but very very good service and politeness. This was first time in Keswick and here but if we go back, I'd make a beeline for here. We spent £30 with peronis etc so all good ! Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodstone Pizza and Grill also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Woodstone Pizza and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodstone Pizza and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.