We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silk Road

The Silk Road
6 Museum Square, Keswick, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I visit end this place in June 2014. We found this place with reasonable prices. The front house is run by only 2 European guys although it is Chinese but they were excellent in service.
They managed very well serving the customers with about 6-7 tables full and take always.

Food was ok too but could do better. Overall the service is great and worth for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    33
    11
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Down Hill!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Used to love this place, for eating in and takeaways but i would prefer neither now! Apparently the place was taken over, which would explain a lot! Lovely atmosphere inside but the food is just not up to standard.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We visited this restaurant during the early part of April - the food was very nice, but the restaurant was freezing cold and the staff did not seem to understand when we said we were cold. Consequently the food got very cold very quickly and although this was our second visit I am not sure we will go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value tasty Chinese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stumbled across this place during an impromptu stay in Keswick. It was packed and had a very good dinner offer for £13.50pp. The soup starters were really great and very tasty. There was then a generous portion of Peking duck for 2 followed by two really nice mains with lovely big prawns. It was hectic due to the full restaurant and constant stream of takeaway order coming in, but we were dealt with efficiently and well. Great place for a good value dinner!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We ordered a takeaway from here last week. I had a Chinese chicken curry which was lovely, my husband ordered chicken in a honey type sauce. Even though it was really tasty it was pretty dry as there wasn't enough sauce. We also ordered chips and egg fried rice, and the portions were very generous. We have had takeaways from here in the past and always find it excellent value for money, and would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silk Road also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Silk Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silk Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.