We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Hills Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Hills Chinese Restaurant
70 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5DX, England
01768 773165
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The owners made you very welcome,they escorted you to your table,gave you a few minutes to decide what you would like to drink,on bringing them they ask you if you are ready to order?The food was delicious one of the best Chinese meals I have had for quite a while.The resteraunt is very clean and spotless,would recommend it to anybody.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    28
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“First time we've had Chinese that was as good as home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We eat Chinese food weekly in Sydney, which has a very high standard due to a high Chinese population. The Golden Hills served food as good as home - special fried rice and sizzling prawns with ginger and shallots were both excellent. The green tea was authentic too. Yummy. We chatted to the friendly staff and all up had a wonderful meal for £25 for two. We recommend it to any Aussies missing Chinese food - just don't do the £ to $AUD exchange.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great ChineseFood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very popular Chinese Restaurant - there was also a queue for takeaways!. Excellent, tasty food and plenty of it. We had a set meal for two and it was delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More Please!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was a having a family weekend in Keswick with my 3Sons and young Grandson to celebrate my 60th Birthday.We decided of all the choices of food to go for Chinese and I'm pleased we did.We were welcomed and my Grandson aged 2and a half was given a colouring book and crayons to keep him entertained.The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.I had sizzling mushroom and green pepper in black bean sauce,which I thoroughly enjoyed.My Sons had various chicken and rice dishes which they enjoyed and I helped them eat some of theirs.My Grandson seemed happy with the food too.We had a great night and went back to our B&B very full and completely satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistent quality of food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We first visited the Golden Hills in 1988 and have to say we have returned a number of times and the food is as good today as it was the very first time we visited. A well established value for money Chinese restaurant and takeaway with good friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Hills Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Golden Hills Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Hills Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.