We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank Tavern

Bank Tavern
47 Main Street, Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 5DS, Keswick, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 111 restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Pub
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Family Lunch Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came back to the Bank Tavern for a meal with family over Christmas as we had ordered a Turkey etc from the local butchers. We went in on a Sunday afternoon for lunch with our party.

As a couple we ordered the Warm Crusty rolls one with a tuna filling and the other with a bacon and cheese. The both came with chips, side salad and coleslaw. The standard of food hasn't slipped. We also shared a generous portion of onion rings. Good selection of branded sauces.

The others tried the ploughmans salad platter, 16oz steak, and burgers for the children. All were very happy with their meals. I think the highlight was the steak!

Service good as always. A little pricey but on par with other places in Keswick.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    79
    49
    28
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We attended for lunch on one Sunday afternoon. I ordered potato skins, which are normally loaded with potato and dips, but this was literally just strips of potato skins deep fried. Really greasy, crunchy and just not very nice. I then had the cheese and leek pie which was a tasteless block of stodgy cheese and very undercooked pastry. I pointed this out to the waiter who didn't even apologised, nor offered to refund anything, just took the plates away. The only good thing we enjoyed at this place was the ale. Wouldn't not visit again for food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Quirky pub. Quirky staff (good quirky though) great beer when they have Sneklifter on.....there's a bit of a pattern forming to my reviews, it's all around ale! But The Bank has a good range of beers and they do keep a good cellar here. The ales are well looked after and I could sit in here all day. Didn't eat here based on a very poor meal last time (2 years ago) but a great olde English pub nonetheless.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We love this pub, great really well kept beer, good pub food (the Steak and Jennings Ale Pie is outstanding), a great atmosphere and always busy. Ate here three times on this trip it's that good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very yummy food and traditional atmosphere with good local ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When you want a proper traditional pub with everything a good pub should have go here. The food is filling and tasty, staff are friendly and service is quick. It must be a popular pub as it was very busy inside. Definitely perfect for a cold, drizzly day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bank Tavern also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bank Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.