We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPRING BREAK WITH WEATHER BONUS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Keswick Country House Hotel to your Saves list
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SPRING BREAK WITH WEATHER BONUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Four of us stayed at The Keswick Country House from 27th April to 1st May 2014. We could not fault it. Friendly, plenty of food and choice. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Complemented with exceptionally warm and pleasant sunshine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    354
    74
    30
    7
See reviews for
140
679
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just arrived back from a fabulous stay at the hotel over the bank holiday. This is my third stay and it has fast become a firm favourite. The food, staff, location and accomodations in the hotel is first class.

The room I stayed in was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfy with plenty of space and I have the mention the bathroom and fab shower ! I only wish mine at home was half as good (a pure pleasure).

The food was sublime, despite the best intentions (for my waist line), I once again, couldn't resist the full English for breakfast. Evening dinner was fantastic, as was on previous visits. The menu caters for all options, but if your a meat eater like me, take full advantage if the lamb is available, it is wonderful.

Overall, the trip was brilliant, made even better by the first rate hotel staff. I honestly couldn't recommend this hotel any more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I took a party of twenty to the Keswick Hotel, this is the fourth Choice Hotel we have stayed at and while the others are all value for money the Keswick Hotel is a class above. Everyone enjoyed their stay and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Once again I visited this lovely hotel with a group of friends for our bi- annual walking week-end.
The staff are always very friendly & welcoming , and the food maintained the usual high standard.
The fact that we have been staying in this hotel for the past 5 years speaks for itself!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The first thing you will notice about this hotel when you arrive is the stunning backdrop, the second is the warm welcome. The staff are always friendly and helpful, making you feel relaxed from the start.
As you can see from the photos, the food is outstanding. The buffet breakfast alone leaves you spoilt for choice. You can choose from a very tasty full English or Continental, and for those who want to save the calories for dinner, there is a lovely fresh fruit salad. Dinner is beautifully prepared, it almost looks too good to eat. The menu is varied and, despite staying there a few times now, I have never had anything that wasn't delicious. There's a children's menu too, so the less adventurous can have something simple like a burger, but all made with the best ingredients so you can feel confident they're still eating a nutritious meal. I don't have a sweet tooth but even I was tempted by the dessert instead of the cheese board and I wasn't disappointed. If you're out and about during the day you can order a packed lunch, and even that is way above average yet extremely good value. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre, so you could easily enjoy a weekend here without venturing further afield. Children can enjoy Puzzling Palace, crazy golf, swimming, or just have fun playing on the park. There are some great performances to see at the Theatre By the Lake, and a short drive away there's the Keswick Climbing Wall. If you want to explore the area further there is much fun to be had. You can take a boat ride at Windemere, do some outdoor activities at Rookin House Farm, a tree trop trek at Brockhole, or explore Grizedale Forest or Go Ape at Whinlatter. There's so much to do round and about, and at the end of the day you can relax in the big cosy chairs back at the Keswick. Other reviews have mentioned it feels like a home from home and it does. The decor is warm and inviting and the rooms are beautiful - some with panoramic views of the countryside and mountains. The beds have the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on away from home!
It's definitely the place to stay with your family if you're looking for home comfort, fine food, and endless things for children to do right on the doorstep. You could enjoy a stay at the Keswick without even needing to get in your car but if you do, then it's perfectly placed to explore, and once you've been there you will definitely want to go back. Last but not least look out for the rabbits on the croquet lawn We enjoyed watching them pop up to play, especially in the evening at dinner from one of the picture windows overlooking the gardens.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Every time we arrive at the hotel it feels like coming home and we instantly relax. The welcome is always warm and genuine. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent and never fail to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The menu is always varied and the food presentation and flavours are superb. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

When you first arrive at this hotel the building is very impressive and the minute you walk through the door you are made to feel very welcome. The rooms, especially the superior rooms are very spacious and have lovely views of the fells all around. The grounds are very pretty with putting/croquet lawns and you regularly see baby rabbits running around.
The food in the restaurant are superb with choices that would suit all tastes. The food is top quality and the service is excellent. The buffet breakfast is extremely good with hot and cold buffet tables covering the choice of all you would want.
We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Do choose a superior room it is worth the supplement for the size of the room and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keswick Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.