We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our (tenth?) visit to Keswick Country House Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Keswick Country House Hotel to your Saves list
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our (tenth?) visit to Keswick Country House Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We come up here twice a year and stay at this super hotel. A few days of excellent surrounding, heavenly dinners and comfortable rooms is what it's all about. The hotel although 150 years old is well maintained with well-manicured grounds. It's handy for nipping into Keswick, a lovely small town and is near a bus stop where you can travel further afield. And after a day out, come back to a nice, deep, hot bath followed by dinner with a superb menu. If you pay more for your drinks, then so what? It's the norm for this kind of establishment and goes with the territory. You can expect to pay more! If you get a lunchpack, it's a sandwich, crisps, cake, water and an apple. The staff are all unfailingly kind and look after you from start to finish with the greatest of courtesy. We look forward every year to our spring and autumn trips here. Great stuff.

Room Tip: We can't really think of one. By preference, though, it's quieter when you're higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    328
    73
    29
    7
See reviews for
128
615
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

14 of us stayed in the hotel last weekend for my brother's 60th birthday and we had a marvellous time. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful but the high point of the visit was the fantastic food - way above the standard one would expect from a very busy hotel. The menu was extensive, innovative and apparently changes every day. Service was brilliant and the food was always hot and cooked as required. Needless to say, we all ate way too much.
We shall definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor at the front and was spacious and very pleasant although the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The is the second time we have stayed and will certainly be back again. Had a lovely room overlooking the mountains. The food was very good with plenty of choice and the breakfast lacked nothing. A short stroll into the centre of town down a very pleasant road with parks at either side.
All the staff were very professional, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in "Station "room well appointed but the room and bathroom needed more heaters.The staff were exemplary,friendly,efficient and gave the impression that they enjoyed your visit.The restaurant was superb I have rarely experienced the choice,quality and presentation plus a free bottle of wine provide by the superb staff in far Grander hotels.
Sited only minutes from town centre is an ideal location.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in Station can be cold in Winter plus the upstairs rooms have no lift facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here Fri/sun 28 Mar family of 4 for mum & dad's golden wedding for a surprise for them we had a great time everything was perfect from rooms to staff to food the only gripe I have is I phoned ahead to see if they could make it a bit special for the occasion we were celebrating and were basically told no they couldn't do anything I wasn't looking for anything big maybe only some wine or flowers in the room as I already booked them into a station room but it didn't put a damper on it we had a brilliant weekend and would definitely stay here again it's an old building and there is parts which need a little bit of tlc but it's still a beautiful place to stay.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

8 out of 10 for us!
Great drive to Keswick and a lovely surprise when we arrived at the imposing looking hotel.
We noticed on check in that some guests were getting free packed lunches and walking books. We asked about these when we were checking in and why we were not getting them and were informed rather abruptly by a larger foreign receptionist that we were on a different deal. We discovered later that we were paying more than the people on this deal so asked the receptionist again but were told “you already asked once and I said no, you are on a different deal” We were furious so asked to speak to the Manager. I would like to apologise to the Manager as I initially took my anger over the receptionist out on her but she was lovely and diffused the situation immediately. She apologised on behalf of the receptionist and gave us complimentary packed lunch vouchers and a walking book as an apology.
We had a nice bottle of wine in the bar at lunch time, we would normally do this but the wine was on offer so why not.
Dinner was nothing less than fantastic. We had lamb and it was the best lamb I have ever eaten. Of course we had another bottle of discounted wine!
We spoke to the Manager again after dinner as she was serving in the bar and she gave us some great ideas of where to go in the area as it was our first visit to the lakes.
I would recommend all you newby lakes visitors do this as we visited some fabulous places we would never have known about had we not asked.
Breakfast was an all you could eat buffet and set us up for the day.
Overall we had a super stay and will be back. A big thanks to Stephanie, Vanessa and Cameron, lovely friendly, polite staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Hotel is a big rambling country house, lovingly cared for and set in its own grounds. It is situated adjacent to what used to be a working railway station that once received Queen Elizabeth II on a royal visit to Keswick. A covered walkway, added in advance of the visit, leading from the station to the hotel, has since been converted into a Conservatory like room, which is now used for Weddings and other functions. There is a book available in the lounge with some wonderful pictures and a narrative on the previous uses of the house. It was once the home of Roedene School for Girls, during the war years. The original station has been converted into annexe rooms.

The hotel is less than half a mile form the market square in the centre of town. Easy walking distance. Once we arrived, the car didn't move again until we were leaving.

We stayed as two mature couples for a weekend away, and were absolutely delighted with it. Our rooms were large and comfortable. The staff were ever so helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and everybody was so friendly.

The Keswick is different from the other Choice Hotels, in Blackpool. It is a little more upmarket, and doesn't serve the all-inclusive model used there. The Restaurant is large and well served by the staff. Breakfast was excellent. Full English, continental, or anything in between. I found that the evening meal had a little less choice than I would have liked, however, my wife and the others enjoyed it, so that could just be my taste. They did, however, have a reasonable wine list and great Desserts!

For the rainy days there is a small bar, with a large, adjacent, quiet lounge.

However, in the Lakes, rain is almost a given, and this did not stop us exploring the town. There are a great many "Outdoor" shops, selling walking or hiking gear, and the Saturday market was well populated. Around the square are several village type pubs. A couple of them have live music at the weekends. Lunchtime food, and an evening visit, at The Oddfellows, is highly recommended! But get there early, as it fills up quickly, with a mixed crowd of mostly older couples.

Overall, we had a great weekend, and will most definitely return. On arrival home, my wife found she had left something behind in the room, after a telephone call, the staff found it and posted it home to us. So, all in all, very pleased with our stay, and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We chose a standard room and were very happy with it. I believe that some of the upgraded rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keswick Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.