We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very good experience from Choice Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Keswick Country House Hotel to your Saves list
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another very good experience from Choice Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having already been very impressed at the value for money and experience at the Patterdale Hotel in the same group, I was interested to see how a different hotel performed. I was not disappointed. We stayed 3 nights Sunday- Wednesday in early November on the usual half board package in a superior room for £235 for 2.
The room was very large and comfortable, warm and quiet with a double and a single bed, TV tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits.The bathroom was roomy and well provisioned.
As part of the deal we had a free bottle of house wine- there was a selection of 5 on the menu and all were good quality. We also had a free packed lunch for 2 on one day which was excellent.
The setting of the hotel was good with extensive gardens and extensive views from the bedroom of the fells. It was only a short walk to the town centre. Plenty of parking on site.
Breakfast was as good as I have received anywhere. The evening meal was 3 courese with plenty of choice and again was excellent. It wasn't cordon bleu but good wholesome tasty food with interesting touches.
Where Choice Hotels have got it right, and I don't know how they do it, is the staff. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient as were the bar staff. The bedroom was always clean and tidy. The restaurant staff were all extremely efficient and pleasant.I think the young waiter from the Czech Republic desreves a special mention.THe service was much better than virtually all , much more expensive hotels I have visited n the Lake District and elsewhere.
Yes, the hotel is a little tired in places but this is a typical old Victorian hotel and it has no pretensions to be the Dorchester.What it is is 5* service for 2* prices and superb value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    328
    73
    29
    7
See reviews for
128
615
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford west midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Keswick Hotel for the first time in October and I have to say that this must be one of the best hotels in the lakes. The rooms are excellent, the staff are that friendly and you can tell that they all get on with one another, the meals are excellent, almost silver service. The dining room layout is excellent and the staff take you to your table and pull out the chairs for you, they treat you like VIP's. they brush the table after the main course. My Wife and I were very impressed so much so that we booked up again and had another lovely stay in early November. The Hotel is in a lovely setting next to the old Keswick railway station and is now incorporated as part of the hotel. I cannot praise this hotel enough.

Mr & Mrs Whitehouse, retired couple from the West Midlands

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102. This is a lovely room plenty of space. It has 2 double leather suites with fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Whitehouse

Thank you so much taking the time to review the Keswick Hotel and for your many compliments.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom and the meals provided and have passed on your kind words about our friendly, efficient staff.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have just spent a weekend break at the Keswick house hotel. This is our second visit, we stayed there earlier this year as a break on our way to catch the ferry to Ireland in Stanraer and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable . The food is excellent and the staff in dining room pleasant and helpful.We would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Cannot fault this hotel. Recent refurbishment. Comfortable bedrooms, friendly efficient staff, good breakfast choice and top quality dinners. Check website for incredible deals off season when you can get bed, breakfast and dinner for less than the price of an average B&B. The 3-course dinner is exceptional and not the usual restricted menu with the cheaper options you usually get. Lots of choice (including steak) and all high quality that would put many of the better restaurants to shame. This hotel is an example of what hotels can do if they really try!

Room Tip: All rooms good but worth paying a small extra for an upgraded room overlooking the garden and mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Keswick Country House Hotel. We have stayed a few times now and always stay there if we want a break in the Lakes. It is well run and the food is always delicious. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The lift is out of order at the moment so recommend a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a short break at the Keswick Country Hotel. The Lakes lived up to their name with plenty of water everywhere, but the welcoming at the hotel more than made up for the inclement conditions. The rooms are being refurbished and looked lovely, and once again the food was superb at dinner times. Plenty of choice, freshly cooked and with excellent service - what more do you need?

Room Tip: Face the front or overlook the railway walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamGB
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from two four day visits to the Keswick Hotel. On both occasions our rooms had just been refurbished (whole hotel being done before xmas 2012). We were very comfortable. The evening meals just get better and better. The menu choice is very good and the standard of the meals exceptionally high. Breakfasts are superb buffet style and the staff constantly restock.
One of the best aspects ofthis hotel is its cheerful and most helpful TEAM of staff. They all doing everything they can to ensure your stay is a great success and enjoyable.
On our second visit we took our 18month and 7yr old grandsons and the staff were wonderful with them too.
We visit this hotel at least 2 /3 times a year for both walking based and recreational holidays.
It is an old building but the recent decor improvements have helped bring new life to this grand building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keswick Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.