We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect b&b in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwardene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Edwardene Hotel to your Saves list
Edwardene Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect b&b in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is a perfect place to stay in Keswick. The owners Russell and Marie are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at home straight away. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean with a great shower in the en suite. The breakfasts are delicious and its just round the corner from the centre of Keswick. Save yourself time, don't bother searching for hours on the internet like i did. Book in here, I'm sure you will not be dissappointed

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
78
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Enjoyed our 3 days here. Russell greeted us and was nore than willing to spend time telling us of good restaurants and walks that we could do. Centrally located so nowhere is too far. A great base for walking in the lakes. The breakfasts were really good and we tucked into these with relish each morning. The lounge was lovely as well. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

I have just spent 5 days at the Edwardene. My room was a single, way up in the rafters, but it was larger than your average single room and this gave it a spacious feel. The room was en-suite with a good shower and all the usual tea/coffee facilities etc. The hosts were superb, a friendly couple always at hand to make sure my stay was as pleasant as could be. The hotel is situated just a few hundred yards from the heart of Keswick and around 10 mins walk to the lake via a parkside pathway. Parking is always available on the nearby streets although things can get a bit busy at prime holiday times (bank holidays etc). Having said that I managed to park within 200yds of the hotel at all times of the day. The highlight of my stay had to be the freshly cooked breakfasts. I am a photographer and as such I was up and about before dawn, and to return to Russell's full Cumberland breakfast was a treat. Marie serves the customers and also makes a mean slice of doorstop toast. All in all this was a cracking place to stay and one that I will be using during my photographic excursions to the Lakes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

From the moment we arrived the owners Russell & Marie were so welcoming and spent the time ensuring we knew where to eat and what to do locally. The room had just been redecorated in extremely tasteful furnishings with solid ash furniture and a very comfortable bed. The en-suite was also new with an excellent shower. As others have said the breakfast was carefully presented and excellent as was the location just off the main street. We will be abck as soon as we can!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We really liked this place. Good location, they helped one of the group who could not get in one night find accommodation elsewhere. The also gave good recommendations for food in the town.

Bathrooms were clean and modern, views from the top back rooms were fantastic.

All in all a well run establishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn, lancs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Went here for 3 nights and it was just round the corner from the centre, so the location was spot on and the hotel was really nice, clean and lovely people. Couln't have asked for any better and would stay in this hotel again for sure!! Unfortunately it was time for us to come home!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

The review can only be short because everything was escellent. Marie and Russell have got this absolutely right! We have been staying in Keswick for short breaks for the past 10 years and this was the best yet. Other places can be found at cheaper rates but this comes with that extra touch of luxury. The biggest broblem being which of the lovely rooms to choose to stay in.

  • Liked — the feeling of quality in every aspect
  • Disliked — the view from the bedroom window
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edwardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardene Hotel

Address: 26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edwardene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Edwardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwardene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.