We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Edwardene, Southey Street, Keswick - a pleasure to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwardene Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Edwardene Hotel to your Saves list
Edwardene Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Edwardene, Southey Street, Keswick - a pleasure to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went to Keswick for a school reunion and booked the Edwardene by telephone which was easy and very friendly. My hosts were excellent, friendly and helpful and the hotel has a very pleasant ambience and is full of wonderful local pictures. The bed was sooooo comfortable and the shower was fantastic - not one of those electric things that dribbles small volumes of water. The breakfasts were superb - lots of choice and top quality local produce, but mainly it was served fresh and really hot which I much prefer. Only slight disadvantage was that in common with most hotels in this part of Keswick, the views are limited to those over rooftops, so top floor helps. Excellent lounge with lots of good local books and guides. I hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I had a single (The 'Teal') - small but everything I needed, great bed and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
74
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in the Edwardene Hotel in August of this year. The Edwardene prides itself on providing a luxurious experience and this was certainly the case, at a very affordable price. Both of our single rooms were relatively small but smartly decorated and provided with all the extras you would hope for including a good range of washcare products, etc. The en-suite shower was excellent and the bed was extremely comfortable. The proprietors were really lovely and the breakfasts were excellent with a good choice and high quality crockery, etc. The location is good, just a very short walk from the town centre and starting points for walks to Skiddaw, Latrigg, etc, but quiet and peaceful, apart from the bin lorry one morning!
Highly recommended. I am planning to take my wife to stay there in the not too distant future - using a double room this time, a couple of which I saw and looked very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at the Edwardene Hotel for 2 nights on 7th September.

I chose the hotel mainly based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed.

I think one of the positives of this bed and breakfasts is that the owner Marie, seemed genuinely friendly and considerate as a host.

I wanted a bottle of wine to be left in the room for my partner's birthday, on our arrival and I emailed the hotel. This was no problem for them and was a nice touch (obviously we had to pay for this).

The bedroom (Myrtle) was well decorated with a nice comfy bed and an attractive bathroom and power shower. We had a king sized bed which we paid a slightly higher rate for.

The towels were nice too and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There is a nice traditional style lounge upstairs with a radio.

The location is great, it was literally 2 mins walk from the shops, and maybe 3-4 mins walk to the town square, so really convenient.

The breakfast was lovely. Good quality ingredients, tasty and well presented. My partner said it was the best breakfast he had ever had at a keswick B&B. We also tried the salmon and scrambled eggs which was nice but my partner prefered the full english so regretted ordering the latter. Just to reiterate, the scrambled eggs are still delicious, it was just a lighter option that the full breakfast!

There is really nothing I can fault about my experience at the Edwardene Hotel. It is perhaps slightly pricier than one or two other B&B's around it, but then at least you know you are paying for a nice place to stay with good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This is my second time here, and will return if not full. The B&B was quiet, clean, with friendly staff and cosy bedroom.
It is located, just off one of the main roads, and so you can't hear any traffic, and it is within 3-5 mins walk of the town centre (5 for the bus station if you run like me).
Breakfast was lovely and very filling (and it was gluten free as requested).
No problems with shower or bedroom at all, and the owners were very friendly throughout.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west kirby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family of four recently stayed at this lovely small hotel. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The children were made to feel welcome, the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was the best in the Lakes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Me my husband and son (15) stayed here for 2 nights 30- 31st August and wow what a lovely hotel, to start Marie and russell who run the hotel were really nice made us feel welcome, showed us around took our bags to our room, the room was very clean the beds were so comfortable found it hard to get hubby and son up in the morning, the breakfast was the best it set us up for the day, Marie and Russell were always there, they helped us with directions and places to go they were very friendly, this hotel should be a 5 star not a 4 star, we couldn't find any reason why it shouldn't be 5* we would like to thank Marie and Russell for making our stay relaxing we will be back again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a fantastic B&B. The owners are lovely and super helpful, the building is full of character and the rooms have been refurbished to a really good standard, and the breakfast was great - a choice of a full cooked breakfast or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (or anything in between). I would recommend this B&B wholeheartedly to anyone going to Keswick.

Room Tip: My family and I had five of the rooms between us and no one had any complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edwardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardene Hotel

Address: 26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edwardene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Edwardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwardene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.