We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B need a new category!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Save
You added Linnett Hill to your Saves list
4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
nottingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“This B&B need a new category!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent is just not enough for this B&B, there has to be a new category of super, top class and one-off! Because all of those descriptions fit Andy and Mandy's establishment. There was absolutely nothing to fault during our stay and the accommodation. If only we could force all the other B&B owners in the country to go and stay for a night and learn from their stay. Although that's perhaps not such a good idea as there'd be no room for us anymore! A great place and well deserving of its spot as number 1 in Keswick and has to be in the UK's top 10.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
227
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Linnett Hill deserves to be Number 1 in Keswick, it would be extremely hard to beat.

From the warm welcome on arrival from the lovely hosts Mandy & Andy, to the great breakfast (I especially loved Andy's scrambled eggs!), everything was perfect.

Linnett Hill is modern, clean & bright & with a friendly atmosphere. The rooms are well equipped with thoughtful touches & the location & on site parking couldn't be better.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have stayed here quite a few times but the present owners Andy & Mandy have surpassed themselves in every way. Spotless and tastefully decorated, with a wonderfully varied choice at breakfast.
The car park is a real bonus in Keswick

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Linnett Hill and loved everything about it. Our room was clean,modern and cosy and had everything you could need, plenty of furniture for clothes, a good quality hair dryer and modern TV with DVD player. We loved the decor throughout. The choice for breakfast was plentiful and we highly recommend the home cooked full English! Andy and Mandy made us feel very welcome and at home. The location was spot on and everything was on the doorstep - we were spoilt for choice of restaurants, bistros, cafes and shops and the beautiful lake is only 15 mins walk. There is also a beautiful park over the road.
We couldn't recommend Linnett Hill highly enough and are already planning our next stay!
Oliver & Anna

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First the bad points to put people off so there will be space when we book to go back!
1. The B&B is on a main road - that should put people off who don't like traffic. We had a road facing room and it was actually surprisingly quiet as Keswick roads have very little traffic at night. The view over the park was lovely with the fells behind.
2. Parking in Keswick can be a nightmare. Linnett Hill has a good sized proper car park at the rear - so actually a very good point!
I have to give up - I really can't think of any negatives!!
Linnett Hill is a lovely newly refurbished B&B close to the centre of Keswick. My husband and I had a room that was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and modern en suite shower room.
Andy and Mandy are the best B&B hosts we've met. They are so friendly and welcoming in a completely natural way. They really seem to enjoy making people feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The sign of a good B&B is the quality of its breakfasts. Linnett Hill doesn't disappoint here either. There are plenty of options and unlimited hot drinks and toast. Andy cooks a great full English and Mandy always has a smile while serving it. You couldn't wish for a better start to the day.
In terms of quality and value for money Linnett Hill deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We would highly recommend Linnett Hill B & B, Andy and Mandy are the most perfect hosts and should be very proud of what they have achevied as the accommodation is exceptionally clean, it's well located in a very popular area of the Lake District. Mandy greats you with a very warm welcome.The rooms are of a very high standard, with tea, coffee, bottle water, hot chocolate and biscuits etc., their breakfast menu has a very large variety which should suit all variable diets.We would recommend the guset house to any one.
Thank you for a most enjoyable stay, look forward to seeing you again.

Room Tip: just ask as you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous find. We could not have asked for a nicer stay. Andy and Mandy were extremely friendly, welcoming and relaxed making us feel at ease from the off. First impressions of Linnett Hill were welcoming and attention to detail was amazing. Our room was beautiful in design and very comfortable. Breakfast was a feast of loveliness with all sorts of choices. As you can tell we will be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linnett Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.