We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegarth Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stonegarth Guest House to your Saves list
Stonegarth Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at Stonegarth for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year. It was my Christmas present to my partner and I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! We stayed in Room 4 and it was absolutely stunning. More like a top end hotel than a B&B! The bed was gorgeous and so comfortable. We even had a heated blanket which was a nice touch during winter. The bathroom was amazing - HUGE jacuzzi bath and separate walk-in shower with 2 sinks and a mirror that doubled as a tv! The breakfast was
superb and the hosts were so attentive and helpful without being imposing.

I honestly can't praise this B&B enough. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
347
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Another lovely stay at Stonegarth, this time for 3 nights over the New Year, and we also took my Dad for his first stay. Everything lovely as usual, we really like room 5 (although we missed the Jacuzzi tub!). As ever we appreciated the lovely food, warm comfortable rooms, and the little touches, like milk in the fridge, drip tray for wet weather gear (so needed!) toiletries and dressing gowns.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed just the one night and were very lucky to get a room as we only booked on the day. The owners were exceptionaly friendly, welcoming and helpful both on the phone when we booked and when arrived, and off street parking was provided free of charge. We were showed to our room which was large, warm and very comfortable. Had everything we could need, including drinks in the mini fridge, hairdryer, plentiful tea and coffee, 2 small glasses of complimentary wine, guides to the local area and more besides. Room was clean, light and spacious. Wonderful four poster bed (great night sleep) with electric blanket and down duvet and pillows. Heating in the room was really good too, expecially considering it was January. Bathroom was great too, no bath in this room but we didn't need it, walk in shower was excellent.
Breakfast was fantastic, choice of continental or cooked. We both had cooked and couldn't fault it at all. I asked for mine without a couple of items and these were replaced with extra of some other things without me even asking. Overall an outstanding stay and superb value for money, will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, however I am certain that all of the rooms will be equally excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My friends and his family stayed in Stonegarth Guest House for one night. We stayed in room 3, room 5 and 6 on 19 December. We experienced top hotel standard facilities and services. The house are very warm, cosy, tidy and very well decorated. The rooms are all huge with modern and convenient facilities. All the toliteries are all branded from L'Occitane. Drinks and milk in the mini fridge are definitely more than what a 5* hotel can offer. The location is also great. It's on a quiet street but 5 minutes walk can reach the town centre with plenty of restaurants and cafes, shops and supermarkets available. The breakfast is also more than what 5* hotels can offer. Yogurt, fruits, cereal and cooked English breakfast are the best among all my hotel stay experience. The owners are so professional and friendly. I will definitely stay here again and recommend to all my friends. The best stay during my UK trip in December!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I used Keswick as a base for walks and a drive around the Lake District. Our stay at Stonegarth was just perfect for the purpose. Our room (Room 5) was big and we can see Catbells from our room. They provided fresh milk and refreshments in the fridge every day. The breakfast served was also very delicious and well presented! It took us about 5 minutes to walk to the town centre. The price was also reasonable. It is nothing short of excellent and professional and we recommend it to anyone visiting Keswick.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First time to the Lake District and had a terrific weekend. The location of Stonegarth made a perfect home base. The room was fantastic. Loved the jacuzzi bath! The breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 night at the Stonegarth after a lovely stay. The room was very warm just what you need when its freezing outside! The fresh milk was a bonus along with the drinks in the fridge. We had room 4 and it was a very comfortable room with a modern four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath, the bed was very good quality so we slept really well. The breakfast was delicious and served by Stephen who was very friendly and welcoming. All in all I would highly recommend this guest house to anyone, the quality of the room and all the additional extras really make all the difference and the cost is very reasonable indeed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double 14 jet spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.