We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, Fabulous, Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegarth Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stonegarth Guest House to your Saves list
Stonegarth Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Fabulous, Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed with my husband for 2 nights in September, what an amazing place!! Stephen was welcoming and courteous, nothing was too much trouble, the rooms and luxurious, clean and tidy with everything you want and more, loved the mini fridge including REAL milk for your tea and complimentary drinks, the bed was so comfortable it was hard to drag yourself out on a morning, the bathroom with Jacuzzi bath was wonderful after a long day climbing fells, with lovely smellies (Especially loved the bath bombs, Fab in a jacuzzi, fizzed away your aches and pains) To top off an amazing stay the breakfast was to die for, clearly quality produce, cooked to perfection.

When we filled in the post stay questionnaire, the last question was what else could we do, well we racked our brains and could not think of a thing!!

Stephen……..When can I move in?

I can’t wait for an excuse to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, BEAUTIFUL and a jacuzzi bath that fits 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
347
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
consett
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just back from a stay at this lovely guest house. The room was really cozy , immaculate with a brilliant shower in the en-suite. Breakfast was great with a vegetarian option, which is really nice! Defintely the best B & B i have stayed in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was looking for somewhere in the Lake District for an overnight stop on the way back from a holiday in Edinburgh. My luck was in when I found Stonegarth Guest House on the Internet. From the outside, it is an attractive traditional Lakeland town guest house. Inside, it is immaculate. The bedrooms are spacious and thoughtfully furnished and decorated in a 'classy' modern style. The bathrooms are to die for! Ours had a huge spa bath, twin sinks, a vast double shower and even 'his and hers' heated towel rails. Not forgetting the cosy bathrobes. It took us a while to realise that the mirror over the sinks was also a television. Pure decadence is watching TV while lying in a frothy bubble bath. On a more practical note, Stonegarth has its own small car park so there are none of the usual parking problems. Also, it was just a 5 mins walk to a local bistro (Station Road?). Nice touches included being emailed the breakfast menu and a list of recommended eating places (different styles, price ranges, and whether booking needed or not) ahead of our stay. IMPORTANT NOTE - Do as the owners advise and book directly with them to avoid inflated rates imposed by other websites, even when they may say that they offer 'best rates'. We will definitely be back - hopefully for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Stonegarth, which to our mind is more than your usual guesthouse. We had a top floor room and the four poster bed, chaise longue and modern bathroom were a welcome sight after a day out walking. The breakfast was superb; the service unfaltering and, most important to us, the whole place was immaculate. This was our first visit to Keswick and we would love to come back and stay at Stonegarth. I can’t imagine there is a better place to stay in Keswick, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

You certainly feel very comfortable & relaxed whilst visiting the Stonegarth in Keswick. It is ideally located & the offroad parking is definately a bonus.
The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had. The quality of the ingredients and the cooking was superb.
We would definately aim to stay at the Stonegarth again when re-visiting Keswick.
The Stonegarth definately contributed to a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're planning a visit to the Lakes then I would certainly recommend Stonegarth as the ideal base. I've read the comments about Stonegarth on other guest reviews and wholeheartedly agree. This is a top quality guest house where attention to detail is the norm. The rooms are definitely five star, there's an abundance of those thoughtful extras too, and the breakfasts are superbly cooked and presented. And importantly,there's a 'welcoming feel' to Stonegarth that puts you at ease from the moment you arrive. Stephen and Di, the owners, have developed and transformed this property into what I believe has become the Number 1 guest house in Keswick. How do I know? Our two night stay at the end of August, the latest in a number of visits over the years, was as usual a delight. PS. Don't forget the car park, an absolute must in Keswick!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs alll over the country either holidays or working away from home and i have to say what a great stay we had this week it has to be among the best B&Bs value for money wise in the country we shall be returning as soon as we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double 14 jet spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegarth Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.