We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent Bank

Derwent Bank
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Derwent Bank to your Saves list
Derwent Bank
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derwent Water | Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went on a 3 day walking tour
Hotel ok but not memorable
At the end of stay was told in no uncertain times to be out by 10 a.m.
The impression I got was "we've got your money, now off you go"
Meals were so so... nothing amazing for the price
After all, the walking leaders are unpaid so for that reason I found it pricey
The walks were done in a hurry with the leaders looking at their watches, one couldn't stop and admire the amazing views

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked a 3 night guided walking holiday with HFHolidays who own this Hotel. Building showing a little wear and tear externally but on the whole ok.Picturesque grounds leading down to Derwent lakeside.Quiet secluded location in Portinscale and a 20minute walk into Keswick Small adjacent marina where the ferry called to take you around the lake (£9.50 lake cruise) or just across to Keswick £2 single. Putting, croquet, boot room and drying room. Twin room was clean, modern beds were comfortable. Shower room had recently been refurbished. Basic tea and coffee and TV in room-all ok.Breakfast and evening meals are on shared tables with 7 other walking guests --which is fine if your quite a sociable animal--found it a bit daunting at first but enjoyed it by the end of stay.Food was good. The 3 course evening meals were at a set time for everyone and there was a good choice of meals including vege options Good service as well.. Excellent packed lunch was provided in the cost for the walkers. A briefing meeting with the walking leaders each night detailing the next days walk was useful. Some light evening entertainment after the meal was provided by the walk leaders in the way of quizzes and the like. Last night was a bit of a knees up which the leaders organised , which was great fun and there was opportunity for anyone to do a party piece (jokes, recitations, poems etc ). Option for a variety of graded walks led by different leaders. The Dandelion Cafe in the hotel is open to the public and provided drink and food (at extra cost) if you just wanted to chill out and not walk. Nice conservatory and terrace for coffee. If you can get an HF member to recommend a holiday you can get £50 off the book price (3 night DBB and packed lunch including 2 guided walks £280-£50 was not that bad a value. Met some nice people (german, canadian, australian,luxemburgers), had a good laugh and leaders were great (leaders change from week to week). Dont know if you can just stay here on a one night basis but check out their website for all details. Ideal for solo walkers and those wanting initial guided walks in the Lakes.

Room Tip: maybe NOT the chalet rooms accoring to other reviewer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I and a group of my friends recently spent a week in the Derwent Bank Hotel in Keswick.

The hotel is in a beautiful location over looking the lake, and is really nice place to stay. The staff were all very friendly,efficient and helpfull. We had a breakfast, pack lunch & evening meal package and every meal was as good as the last,

Only think negative I could say about the place is when booking make sure you say that you DO NOT want to be put in the chalet's, the rest of the hotel has been renovated and is extremely well done, but the chalet's are dark, damp, small and as for the plumbing, let me say that the people in each chalet was aware everytime somebody used the bathroom/shower in all the other four chalet's. Its time the bull dozer was used for these....

Again lovely place to stay but make sure you are in the main building....

Room Tip: Room 30 - no lift and 45 steps but corner room with window over looking the lake and the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit Derwentbank weekly for the last month as our new choir meets there. The conversion of the Coach house into the Dandelion cafe is stylish and attractive and the interior design is to an very high quality with exceptionally beautiful and striking lighting.
The cafe is really lovely and welcoming and nothing has been too much trouble for the staff. My husband accompanies me and has been able to sit and read in various rooms in the house- there is free wifi and all in all we feel it is a lovely place to be.
Whilst I cannot comment on the rooms personally I did speak to a resident last week and she was extremely happy with her accommodation, the service and the food- in fact delighted with the whole experience..
Having run a Guest House ourselves for 10 years we know that standards such as these are hard to achieve and require constant attention to detail and complete vigilance. We wholeheartedly recommend Derwentbank and wish the HF every success in this new phase of running the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I am a frequent visitor to Keswick and surrounding area, and I love the place to bits. I should also mention that I have worked in the Hospitality Trade for many years and I have been a Concierge for two years.
Following a walk round the lake in very wet weather, I decided to visit a few cafes and bars to make a change. I arrived at the Dewrwent Bank Cafe, following the directions, in a super mood, and thinking what a lovely smell of cooking is coming from the cafe. When I entered I was stopped by the rudest concierge I have ever met. I was aggressively questioned about weather i was 'staying.' To which I replied that I just wanted the cafe. There was no sign of a welcome just an aggressive, 'well this is the cafe', as if I was either a criminal or completely stupid. Following this, I was rudely ogled by a biker-type guest (nothing against bikers, both my husband and myself are bikers, this is merely a desciption). The guest then made a completely unnecessary comment, 'you look confused!'. This probably wouldn't have been said to a male.
Upon that, I just didn't want to stay in such a vile, sarcastic atmosphere. The cafe was nearly empty...Im not surprized!!! Little do these ignoramuses realise that I may have gone in as a lone female, but I was with a large group, who would have been willing to all eat and drink. BIG MISTAKE.
Its such a shame that there is still so much prejudice around.
Go to the Derwentwater Hotel down the road, a much better atmosphere and a great lounge and gardens, good prices too.
My other reviews prove without a doubt that I never normally complain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Breakfast was excellent and served to order. Good hearty dinners, but rather uninteresting. Service was prompt but there were too many arguments with guests over what they had ordered.

Room was quite small - probably more often used as a single than a double - but with beautiful views. The shower room was tiny - only one of us could get in at a time!

Very comfortable public rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derwent Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bank

Address: Derwent Water | Portinscale, Keswick CA12 5TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The breathtaking scenery of the English Lake District has long been popular with visitors. Whether you choose to explore on foot, by bike or on a leisurely lake cruise, this landscape of tranquil lakes and dramatic fells will hold you in its spell. The Lake District is also rich in history and culture with castles, historic houses, museums and theatres all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Derwent Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.