We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thwaite Howe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thwaite Howe Hotel
Save
You added Thwaite Howe Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Thwaite Howe | Thornthwaite, Keswick CA12 5SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
widnes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

what an absolute gem of a place,very scenic lovely welcome from owners. Room was spotless and so comfortable and the view was WOW!!!!! Breakfast set you up for the day......believe me well worth a visit. Short walk to Bassenthwaite Lake, we did drive into Kewswick, dont bother with Middle Ruddings for a meal very over rated pub food and aggressive manager........dont dare complain haha but try Morrells in Keswick three course meal for less than 20 pound delicious and lovely service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights here. Beautiful surroundings, stunning views, great hosts who couldn't be more attentive. Ideal stop over away from the hustle and bustle of Keswick though if you don't want the quiet life a regular bus service is a stones throw away. Missed out on the red squirrel but saw the hedgehogs. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, it was a beautiful house with lovely big rooms in a very picturesque location. Although a few miles from Keswick town centre, it was very peaceful and perfect for a quiet break. The owners could not have been more obliging with a lovely warm welcome, assistance and advice concerning the local area and the best breakfast every morning. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a side facing room which still had lovely views of the fells. Due to the location of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We Stayed at Thwaite Howe for 3 nights and had a wonderful time being out of town and yet close to everything- loved the setting. The rooms were large and comfortable with lovely views the only criticism is that breakfast times are very short and restrictive this can be improved.

Room Tip: Choise a room with garden or mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really clean, tidy hotel. Lovely location. Tea & coffee refilled daily and bed made (which was very comfortable). Bathroom modern and clean. Nice view from the room, would recommend getting a room with a fell view.
Breakfast very nice, can tell it is all good quality.
Didn't meet Nicola, but Adrian is very attentive and cant do enough for you. Very friendly and welcoming.
Only negative is that the breakfast time is limited (8-8.45am) We got up once for it, even though it was a lovely breakfast, we came for a chilled out weekend so didn't want to get up early every morning! Plus the un-made road isn't great, no problems with steep roads just the small steep gravel road is uncompleted with tarmac that juts out (boyfriend wasn't too pleased driving his car over it every time we left the hotel!)
Apart from the two minor negative points, everything spot on and good value for money over the bank holiday period!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a fell view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went on the weekend to celebrate my birthday. My sister found the owners extremely accommodating when organising balloons and flowers to be delivered, they really helped with the surprise.
They were there to welcome us, and what a beautiful place it was. Gorgeous. The rooms were immaculate and decorated to a high standard. Extremely clean.
The breakfast was delicious and as for the views, amazing.

Would definitely stop here again and again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed in many B&Bs and can usually find something about each one which could do with a bit of improving. Not so for Thwaite Howe. In a quiet spot some five minutes by car from Keswick, it suits people looking for tranquility and access to the great walks in this part of the Lakes. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner who was most helpful. The delightful old building has spacious and well appointed rooms. The breakfasts were splendid with a wide range of dishes includng a great full English. Compared to similar places in the area Thwaite is good value indeed. Ample parking space and a nice lounge area. Spot on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Skiddaw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thwaite Howe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thwaite Howe Hotel

Address: Thwaite Howe | Thornthwaite, Keswick CA12 5SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thwaite Howe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thwaite Howe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.