We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a lot better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sweeneys Bar Restaurant

Sweeneys Bar Restaurant
18-20 lake road, Keswick, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
688 reviews 688 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“Could have been a lot better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

For fear of being controversial but every time I go up to the lakes on a walking weekend, which is reasonably frequently, I always come away with the thought that the vast majority of the eateries just go through the motions and rely on the fact that Keswick, Ambleside and Windermere are such tourist traps

Sweeneys was one such place - we (2 adults, 2 kids) ate there on a Sunday lunchtime whilst seeking respite from the usual autumnal lakeland deluge

Menu was an odd mix of snacks and some mains, all of which was "safe" pub fayre

The food and service waisn't bad, it just wasnt good. Every course missed the mark in some way.

I had a seafood platter starter which was pretty good and very large for the price. Yet my wife had a OKish Caesar which was a bit on the miserly side for the money

Our chicken roasts were OK, there was no stuffing (?) and we had to pay 50p extra for yorkshire puddings (we discovered when the bill came) - why?

Kids fish and chips was alright - straight out of the freezer though

Our chocolate brownie desserts were dry

Could have been so much better with a little more attention to detail

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    21
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great alternative to pub fare in Keswick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After several nights of delicious but hearty and not-very-healthy pub grub, my husband and I went in search of a healthier alternative in Keswick that would also be fairly easy on our wallets. The hotels were out (too pricey!), but we found Sweeney's and it was absolutely perfect. The wait staff were attentive and pleasant, the menu was varied, and the food was just what I wanted! The goat cheese salad was perfect and well-proportioned and my husband enjoyed his pizza. The atmosphere wasn't anything special, but it was very good for the restaurant's price bracket and we both appreciated the candlelight. There aren't really a lot of non-ethnic/non-pub restaurants in town for those of us who don't want to break the bank, so Sweeney's was a good alternative and centrally-located to boot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food on our short visit to Keswick.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I went here with my wife to meet some friends.
It was virtually empty on a Thursday night, and so we received a very friendly welcome. The fixed price menu offered the choice we were looking for - steaks, gammon / salmon.

My steak & chips was perfectly cooked & the best I have had for a long time. My wife had the same & agreed. Starters & desserts were also excellent. Our Merlot was of a good quality & quite reasonable.

We will definitely return to Sweeneys, on our next visit to Keswick. I trust that they can manage to retain the high standard we experienced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Booked here in advance to celebrate a 50th birthday weekend. Very disappointed in the food. The beef steaks were well cooked, but so small, and the gammon steaks were tiny. The lasagne had no meat in it, just smothered in tomato sauce. At first we thought they had made a mistake and given us a vegetarian lasagne, but no they confirmed it was supposed to be beef lasagne. We sent it back and were offered a pizza instead. Service was average, the atmosphere was zero. Such a disappointment as it could be a lovely restaurant and in such a good location. Shame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rock hard Yorkshires”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

On the third night of our weekend stay we tried Sweeneys as it looked inviting. They advertised Sunday lunch on the billboard one price all in. When we came to order they could only offer chicken the ony meat left that day. So we had the chicken. The waiter asked did we want yorkshires, we said yes as as far as were concerned this is part of the Sunday lunch. The food was ok. But the yorkshire puddings were rock hard so we left them. I always tip but found out when we got the bill we were charged extra for the rock hard yorkshire puds so didn't bother beware of the hidden charge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweeneys Bar Restaurant also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Sweeneys Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweeneys Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.