We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java & Chocolate

Java & Chocolate
23 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
+44 17687 72568
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: An independent quirky coffee shop. Specializing in Coffee and Cakes.. It is also dog friendly. We have outside seating situated in the market square for those warm sunny days.. We also have upstairs seating with large comfy sofas perfect for those cold winter days.. We have a 4 tier chocolate fountain perfect for a little treat or even to keep the kids occupied while you sit back and relax with a perfect cup of coffee... Need we say more!!
keswick
1 review
“Best coffee in keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We always have to visit java when in Keswick for the best coffee in town. The cakes are to die for. The staff are always cheerful and helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauras1991, Owner at Java & Chocolate, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for your review " Best Coffee In Keswick " I for one won't be arguing with you about that sir... and all the staff here at java thankyou for the lovely comments about them also.......dont be too nice they may ask for a wage rise (Ohh my Yorkshire Humour) hope to see you again many thanks from all at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    44
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Chocolate stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We always have to call in here for either chocolate shots (melted choc in a choc cup) or if we've got more time then the chocolate kebabs (strawberries and marshmallow skewers dipped in melted choc). We love heading here on a rainy day and having chocolate and coffees upstairs while the kids can mess about drawing etc.. Lovely place with very pleasant and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauras1991, Owner at Java & Chocolate, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for calling in to Java again,it's always a must when the kids are in tow, the chocolate kebabs are a firm favorite and am glad to hear they didn't disappoint,hope to see you guys again,and thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We always go here when in Keswick. Really cosy (leather sofa in the window overlooking the square!). Coffee and hot chocolate easily as good as anything from the high street chains and cakes are delicious. Always take home some Tea Pigs too - see you again in February! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauras1991, Owner at Java & Chocolate, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
thanks for the great review,the sofa is always very popular,when you return in feb you will have two more to choose from....".ohh the excitement of it all" i hear, we may even have some new flavours of tea pigs too.Hope to see you in the new year,all the best from everyone here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good coffee, hot choc and chocolate skewers that the kids loved. Prompt, friendly service in a nice place.

Small coffee shop but with a nice atmosphere.

Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauras1991, Owner at Java & Chocolate, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for java,it's always nice to be acknowledged for the great service and drinks we provide,hope you'll be back soon,once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Good Coffee Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very small coffee shop but well worth a visit. Friendly staff. We had lunch here. We shared a toasted panini followed by a cherry scone, a banana and toffee muffin myself a gingerbread latte which was fab fab fab and my husband a cappuccino the cost £14.00 which is very good value for tasty food. Dog friendly great staff what more could you ask for well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauras1991, Owner at Java & Chocolate, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
was great to see you again,we always love the compliments here at Java,especially since i was working that day ;) we are dog friendly and many people appreciate that,i certainly do when i'm on holiday,well i'm sure we will be seeing you again when your next in Keswick,till then all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java & Chocolate also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Java & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java & Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.