We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee on a wet day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Java & Chocolate

Java & Chocolate
23 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5BL, England
+44 17687 72568
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery
Description: An independent quirky coffee shop. Specializing in Coffee and Cakes.. It is also dog friendly. We have outside seating situated in the market square for those warm sunny days.. We also have upstairs seating with large comfy sofas perfect for those cold winter days.. We have a 4 tier chocolate fountain perfect for a little treat or even to keep the kids occupied while you sit back and relax with a perfect cup of coffee... Need we say more!!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffee on a wet day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great atmosphere despite the weather outside. Coffee was exceptional as was the pain de raisin. Liked the quirkiness of the place and the owners seemed to fit in well! Recommend the flat white and the smoothies

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    39
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Called for a coffee but the cakes looked so nice we couldn't resist so tried the toblerone cake very nice the coffee excellent .I highly recommend ,staff friendly and lovely atmosphere .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ooooo good to be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Back in java again for another fantastic flat white and a heart slab of toffee. Cake. Great to see out side seating back and I love the new banners. See you soon guys keep it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Friendly, relaxing and great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A lovely atmosphere in a great loacation in the centre of Keswick. great food and cakes and lovely coffee. I thoroughly suggest a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A bit of a squeeze but a good selection of drinks and some nice cakes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Space is at a premium here and most of the tabled seating upstairs is a bit of a squeeze, I had to move several times to let people in & out. Perhaps losing the two person table at the top of the stairs would free up some space?
Having said that the service was fast & pleasant, the drinks selection & quality very good and the prices were reasonable. The toilet, for information, is down a flight of stairs in the cellar and was functional but singular.
Whilst the decor may look a bit tired & shabby, I wouldn't hesitate to visit again. The Trivial Pursuit cards on the tables is a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java & Chocolate also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Java & Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java & Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.