We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz weekend in Keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Highfield Hotel to your Saves list
Highfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Ely
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Jazz weekend in Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the Highfield Hotel over the weekend of the Keswick Jazz Festival. The room was very comfortable with a superb bath and tea making facilities. The evening meal every evening was excellent. The staff are friendly helpful and looked after us extremely well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    56
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
181
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from 3 day break at the Highfield Hotel, Keswick, with my wife. Yet again a wonderful break, meeting some wonderful people who looked after all our needs. Stayed in the Woodford room which was ideal for our stay as it had a large bathroom, raised lounge for the TV area and not far from the dining room. Nick and his staff made us very welcome and the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner Thanks to everyone, we will be returning later in the year. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from a three day break at this lovely hotel. Perfect location in the market town of Keswick, close to all amenities and ideal for the bus station. Off road parking is another great bonus. On arrival we received a warm greeting from Nick the manager and were shown to our third floor room which had stunning views over Derwentwater and the Borrowdale valley. Our break included hearty cumbrian breakfasts and delicious four course evening meals. A varied and daily changing menu used locally sourced ingredients where possible. Try the collop of cumbrian beef it is outstanding. Waistbands were definately tighter when we departed. This hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Well done Nick and your brilliant team. Can't wait to visit you again.

Room Tip: Room 20 has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently had one night at The Highfield, where we had one of the two Turret Rooms, and although smaller than some of the other rooms we had no cause for complaint. It was very tastefully furnished, exceptionally clean and had the bonus of seating in the little turret, where you can sit and enjoy the view over Derwentwater. The warm welcome and service from the staff was also some of the best we had in our four weeks in Britain. The evening meal was fantastic, beginning with drinks and canapes in the lounge and ending with two courses in the dining room. the food was beautifully cooked and very well presented and once again the service was great. A beautiful breakfast the following morning completed a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel is located in a really great location in Keswick, just 5 mins walk from Derwentwater and around the same distance from the Town Centre. It is situated in an elevated position overlooking parkland and has wonderful views of the Fells.
I had a single room on the top floor, it had great uninterrupted views over the roof tops to the fells.
My room, although small was well appointed, had great storage and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable.
The Hotel had its own Restaurant, apart from breakfast, I did not use it, but a different menu was published each day with a wide choice and if the breakfast was anything to go by, the food would be delicious. The Cumbrian Breakfast was probably one of the best I have experienced in the many years I have been travelling too the Lakes. The menu includes fare for all tastes including Smoked Haddock and Kippers.
The Staff are very friendly and efficient and helpful with local knowledge, many of the staff have walked in the fells and will swap stories.
In conclusion, the Highfield is a comfortable Hotel in a really lovely location and has one other really great asset, a large private car park at the rear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a great hotel perfectly located between the main centre of Keswick and the park on the walk towards Derwentwater. Food was very good with an ever changing menu each night and a good choice of wines. The views towards Derwentwater are amazing. The Turrett rooms are quaint although smaller than the others. You will get a warm welcome from all the staff. Overall a great place for a long weekend with friends.

Room Tip: Terrett rooms are just that little bit different. Amazing views in both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I have recently stayed 5 days at the Highfield Hotel.
Our first floor room was very spacious, well equipped and views looking down Derwent Water and Hope Park.
The breakfasts and evening meals where of excellent quality and very well presented.
The hotel is very near to the bus station, town centre and theatre by the lake.
We will certainly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swinside Lodge Hotel
Swinside Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#8 of 11 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#7 of 11 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.