We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highfield Hotel, Keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Highfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Keswick
Sunderland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Highfield Hotel, Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from 3 day break at the Highfield Hotel, Keswick, with my wife. Yet again a wonderful break, meeting some wonderful people who looked after all our needs. Stayed in the Woodford room which was ideal for our stay as it had a large bathroom, raised lounge for the TV area and not far from the dining room. Nick and his staff made us very welcome and the food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner Thanks to everyone, we will be returning later in the year. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    51
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
152
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from a three day break at this lovely hotel. Perfect location in the market town of Keswick, close to all amenities and ideal for the bus station. Off road parking is another great bonus. On arrival we received a warm greeting from Nick the manager and were shown to our third floor room which had stunning views over Derwentwater and the Borrowdale valley. Our break included hearty cumbrian breakfasts and delicious four course evening meals. A varied and daily changing menu used locally sourced ingredients where possible. Try the collop of cumbrian beef it is outstanding. Waistbands were definately tighter when we departed. This hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Well done Nick and your brilliant team. Can't wait to visit you again.

Room Tip: Room 20 has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently had one night at The Highfield, where we had one of the two Turret Rooms, and although smaller than some of the other rooms we had no cause for complaint. It was very tastefully furnished, exceptionally clean and had the bonus of seating in the little turret, where you can sit and enjoy the view over Derwentwater. The warm welcome and service from the staff was also some of the best we had in our four weeks in Britain. The evening meal was fantastic, beginning with drinks and canapes in the lounge and ending with two courses in the dining room. the food was beautifully cooked and very well presented and once again the service was great. A beautiful breakfast the following morning completed a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel is located in a really great location in Keswick, just 5 mins walk from Derwentwater and around the same distance from the Town Centre. It is situated in an elevated position overlooking parkland and has wonderful views of the Fells.
I had a single room on the top floor, it had great uninterrupted views over the roof tops to the fells.
My room, although small was well appointed, had great storage and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfortable.
The Hotel had its own Restaurant, apart from breakfast, I did not use it, but a different menu was published each day with a wide choice and if the breakfast was anything to go by, the food would be delicious. The Cumbrian Breakfast was probably one of the best I have experienced in the many years I have been travelling too the Lakes. The menu includes fare for all tastes including Smoked Haddock and Kippers.
The Staff are very friendly and efficient and helpful with local knowledge, many of the staff have walked in the fells and will swap stories.
In conclusion, the Highfield is a comfortable Hotel in a really lovely location and has one other really great asset, a large private car park at the rear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a great hotel perfectly located between the main centre of Keswick and the park on the walk towards Derwentwater. Food was very good with an ever changing menu each night and a good choice of wines. The views towards Derwentwater are amazing. The Turrett rooms are quaint although smaller than the others. You will get a warm welcome from all the staff. Overall a great place for a long weekend with friends.

Room Tip: Terrett rooms are just that little bit different. Amazing views in both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I have recently stayed 5 days at the Highfield Hotel.
Our first floor room was very spacious, well equipped and views looking down Derwent Water and Hope Park.
The breakfasts and evening meals where of excellent quality and very well presented.
The hotel is very near to the bus station, town centre and theatre by the lake.
We will certainly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This really is a lovely place to stay and eat. Had room No4 with beautiful views and balcony not that we could use the balcony far too cold. Lovely bedroom well laid out with everything you need for a comfortable stay. The food excellent, changed the menu for the second night, a very varied choice available, the wine list also very varied. The staff make your stay very enjoyable nothing is too much trouble. Because the weather was so cold decided not to walk but went to the Bowes Museum which is well worth while. If you like porcelain and such like an excellent place to visit also the cafe has excellent food. All in all a lovely stay liked it so much we have already booked for New Year's Eve, what more can you say.

Room Tip: Go for one with the views from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.