We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre by the Lake

Theatre by the Lake
Lakeside, Keswick, England
01-76-87-74411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 24 Attractions in Keswick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cumbria’s year-round theater hosts a wide range of visiting drama, music, dance, talks, comedy and film.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Love the plays in the studio just a bit different, great atmosphere, you feel part of the set and really involved, excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    108
    26
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“DRY ROT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

went to watch this comedy/farce with my wife, we laughed our socks off, the cast were excellent and the set was really good, highly recomended

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reputation at Risk?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have been a fan of this lovely little theatre since its inception and, generally, of its productions. In this last two to three years though we have suffered a few disappointments, none less so than both Great Expectations and Bedroom Farce.seen in September. We found both tediously dull, and the desultory audience applause at the end of both of them suggested many others agreed. I fear the commissioning of these plays was a misjudgment for there was nothing to suggest the production team was at fault.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheatrebytheLake, Marketing Manager at Theatre by the Lake, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Theatregoer,

I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy both the summer season productions that you recently saw. We have received great reviews for Great Expectations and good audience feedback generally for these shows, so I'm surprised to hear that you didn't enjoy either of the two shows.

I am heartened to hear however that you felt that the production value was strong. You comments will be passed on to our Artistic Director who undertakes to read all comments regarding our in-house programming.

I do hope that you will continue to visit Theatre by the Lake. The benefit of our summer season is the element of choice on offer in that there's hopefully something for everyone to enjoy.

Kind regards,

Rachel Swift
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, Uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting for a Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Modern venue (opened about 2000). Doesn't have the character of the "blue box" mobile unit it replaced, but MUCH more comfortable. The name gives the game away! Lovely setting for a theatre that holds a variety of events from traditional theatre through participatory workshops, music events and festivals. Obviously, you need to visit their website to see what's on when you are there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“I have not laughed so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Saw "Dry Rot" here last week on holiday and it was utterly brilliant! Stunning set. Who needs London when the talent here is so great. We had tears rolling down our cheeks.
Lovely little theatre with modern facilities. One tip-eat in the cafe. We ate in the restaurant upstairs and the food was not brilliant. The only choice was pies with LOADS of pastry-their new autumn menu. Very tasty but even the veg was slightly over- or under- cooked.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre by the Lake also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Theatre by the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre by the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.