We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very filling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
St John Street, Keswick, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 98 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Leeds
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked a table at the George for our anniversay meal whilst in Keswick recently and I was dying to try the famous Cow pie. I started with the black pudding tower. A dish consisting of Black pudding, smokey bacon in a light cheese sauce. It was packec with flavour, every mouthfull a delight on the palette, there was so much going on in the dish it was just mouthwaterring. My Wife had garlic mushrooms and she has these everywhere but commented it was the best she had tried for a long time. Starters despatched we had mains. Cow pie (half) for me and Hunters chicken for my Wife. My Cow pie was enourmous, a huge portion of pie filled to the brim with huge chunks of tender flavourful beef in the rich gravy. It just melted in the mouth and was accompanied with mash and vegtables. The half was more than enough for this greedy traveller and I wouldn't like to try the full portion. THe Hunters chicken was a moist chicken breast stuffed with venison pate and wrapped in smokey bacon. My wife said it was heavenly, it came with veg and homemade chips. She loved it. We wouldn't hesitate in booking again. The bill came to £40 with a pint and a glass of wine. Good value too.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    241
    77
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Usual high standard !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ate at The George again (twice) during our hols in Keswick. As usual the service was great, the food was excellent and the final bill was surprisingly palatable (for Keswick). We love this place. Although the restaurant menu is the same as the 'pub' menu we prefer to prebook and use the restaurant section, it's much less noisy and the staff are very attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

It's a treat to find a full gluten free menu with lots of choice and with portions sizes that don't assume coeliacs eat less than the rest of the world.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very large family group dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I called The George on the off chance they could accommodate us one week before we were visiting Keswick. We visited as a family group of 21 so it was important we sat together, we were seated together on one table and the three children sat on their own table next to us so it worked out perfectly. The staff made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived, The waitresses were very efficient and went out of their way to ensure we had a great dining experience. The food was excellent for the money and arrived very quickly (as we pre-ordered the day before).

Overall I would definitely recommend the George for dinner, their menu offered lots of choice and for the money was good value and extremely tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Very disappointing :-( ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After reading good reviews about this place we decided to call in through the day & book a table Fri 8th August 14.
The lady who took our booking assured us that they served up the finest succulent locally sourced steak in the area. Convinced that we were in for a treat we booked a table for 7.30 pm.
We turned up in good time & we were soon taken through to the restaurant, we ordered 3 sirloin steaks 2 with port & stilton sauce & one with pepper sauce, we all ordered the steaks to be cooked medium rare. Oh dear, half an hour later they turned up, they were about the thickness of your first finger not very large & unfortunately burned almost to a crisp. Cutting into the steaks we could see that they were seriously over cooked, dried out & very lacking in taste. To make matters worse the stilton sauce was not actually a sauce, it was just square lumps of stilton cheese floating in the port, not sure if that was intentional or not but I have had some lovely port & stilton sauce’s here & there & it has never been served up in that way.
We told the waiter of our poor quality food, he took it to the kitchen & apparently the chef agreed that it was not up to much & the waiter took £5 off of each of the £17 steaks & deducted the 2 £1.95’s for the stilton sauces.
One thing I must say the chips were great, large dry & cooked perfectly.
For an almost £90 (with wine & drinks) experience we would not recommend or go back here unless it was for a plate of chips.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.