We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
St John Street, Keswick, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 111 restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very busy for a Tuesday night in January. Excellent pub food. Good sized portions and reasonably priced. Would recommend. Quiz night seemed very popular.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    227
    176
    57
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The cow pie defeated me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The pub is lovely for a drink, always busy, especially the seats by the open fire.

We ate here on our second night. We had a starter each which was nice, but when we saw the size of the 'half' cow pie, we wish we hadn't. Cow pie was lovely, loads of nice steak and homemade chips. Could have done with a bit more gravy. No room to sample the desserts

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best "Cow Pie" in the world!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Fantastic restaurant. We have been to this place at least twice a year for the last four years. Meals are wonderful. The cow pie is a must.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“try the pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The meals are great, hearty and beautifully prepared. If you like a challenge try a pie - the half pie is enough to MORE than fill any normal person, my whole family couldn't finish a whole pie!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We met friends here on the Monday before New Year - for a drink its a great place. But the food - only OK
No issues with the service but no crackling with the belly pork and the mash was just reheated nothing fancy. The size of the lamb is certainly smaller - we all enjoyed the evening but of all the places we ate during the week sadly we will not be back for food. Morrels blows this away on value and quality
Shame as we have dined here many times and enjoyed. The menu needs re thinking and go back to value for your customers not just basic pub grub at restaurant prices

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.