We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pub meal in Keswick hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
St John Street, Keswick, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Excellent Pub Food in the heart of Keswick. Comfortable restaurant as well as bar food
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best pub meal in Keswick hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

A chef on holiday needs a pub and the George hit the bill! Great cocker hoop ale half portion of 'cow pie' very filling and very succulent! Steak just fell apart and nice pastry too!!our chocy lab loved the open fire in the area digs are allowed my missus had two starters as didn't really fancy their main course veggie option but two starters filled her! We left happy nice bar staff, friendly and defo worth a visit!we will be back! Keep it up!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    241
    77
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“try the pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

on a recent short stay in keswick we had our evening meal at the george hotel a friend had recomende i try the famouse george cow pie
we found a table next to a roaring open fire it was bitter cold outside we got drinks and orderd the lamb for my wife and cow pie for me you can have a whole pie or a half pie i opted for a half a wise choice as it turned out
the lamb arrived on bed of mash with veg and lots of gravy my wife informed me it was red hot and deliciouse my pie arrived with chips and veg as rquested it was a huge wedge of pie stuffed with chunks of lean beef and loads of gravy it tasted great
i didnt quite finish it but would recomend anyone to try

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Celebration meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews and due to having a week full of celebrations we needed a venue for a get together, good value and good homemade food, staff were friendly, venue ok. Food was very contrasting. My 17 month granddaughters chicken nuggets and chips looked mouth watering! They came on a adult plate (£6) but she enjoyed them. Garlic mushroom starters were to die for, main courses hit and miss, some lovely majority barely adequate. Chips frozen, scrap ends (stated homemade) Rump steak, lovely, sirloin poor. Chicken dry, Eight and toddler, £ 250.00 pounds.
I would not eat here again, sorry, the people who had the pies, food looked good.

,

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do you like pies?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

In the middle of the town you'll find the George, which I was told had a bit of a reputation for a good pie.Rumours were not wrong. If you a like a large meal start with the "half portion" of the pie! Sensational. Accompanied by a great selection of vegetables. Good atmosphere with a mix of locals and visitors, dog friendly and carrying a great selection of beers. Take trousers with expanding waistbands.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“disappointing return to this lovely pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed many times at the george and eaten on numerous occasions over the years always finding it to be v.g . So therefore was disappointed when we visited for dinner on thursday evening
hubby has venison casserole which he said was ok. however I had the lamb which was tiny & overcooked and the portion of veg consisted of half a stick of carrot a tiny floret of broccoli and a couple of chunks of swede. which I felt for £14.00 was totally overpriced. They also had for sale a marlborough savignon blanc for £35.00 which I can buy in my local for £15.00. Hopefully the food problem was a blip as anyone can have a bad day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.