We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melbreak House

Save Saved
You added Melbreak House to your Saves list
Melbreak House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melbreak House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Church Street, Keswick CA12 4DX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this B & B for the weekend.
We were required to share our breakfast table with a complete stranger which was awkward to say the least. When we mentioned this we were told that this was unavoidable.
Whilst the room was clean and more than acceptable, we felt that rather than being made welcome, we were simply tolerated, and that the proprietors were only interested in taking our money, not making our stay enjoyable.
We wouldn't even contemplate staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just got back having stayed here for 1 night, spur of the moment to head to keswick 2 pm yesterday afternoon and stumbled upon this place, which thankfully had 1 room left. The landlady was lovely, showed me the room which was a family room but said we could have it for just the price of the 2 of us. it was spotless, the bedsheets crisp and white, the bed comfortable and the en suite clean enough to eat off. Breakfast was good, maybe not the best we've had but certainly no where near the worst, no choice but we would have had what given anyway . Would we stay here again? yes, would we recommend here? yes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Whilst the room was very clean, it was a little basic, no toiletries in bathroom and tea tray had no biscuits which I always find very welcome. The breakfast was quite nice but not much choice of cereals, were not asked what we wanted on cooked breakfast, were given 2 bacon, 1 sausage, fried egg, tomato, beans and mushrooms. Location is good as set back a little from main part of town but only a short walk (2 mins). Owners were friendly but did not see very much of them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallsend tyne&wear
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

my wife,myself and son and daughter in law found this place by chance in keswick looking for an overnight stay in the beauthiful lake district..and believe me i looked around the digs and could find nothing wrong with it at all..the place is immaculate throughout..bedrooms impeccable with comfortable beds..onsuite shower/toilet, again immaculate..dining room spotless and the freshly made breakfasts of a very good portion...only a 2minute walk to the town centre..a big tick to the owners of this b n b..so polite too...no probs staying here again...and i,m hard to please,wish they were all as good as this...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Having been let down by another B&B in Keswick at very short notice before a bank holiday weekend, I was delighted that Melbreak House could offer us a room.

The Landlady was very accomodating in the circumstances; I am particularly grateful for her willingness to stay up until past midnight to let us in after our late drive up from London. She was also very flexible with our payment of the room, which could not be processed in the usual manner in view of our late booking.

The room was clean, very spacious and the facilities could not be complained of. Breakfast was also perfectly adequate.

For the price, this is a fine B&B and it benefits from having good availability and an accomodating Landlady.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights over the mayday bank holiday and on arrival found our double room to be very clean and spacious , however the building was cold and the heating was not on when it needed to be , in the morning the breakfast was served barely warm and the musrooms uncooked . Overall if these faults were rectified it would be decent value for money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Room ..Stopped here for two nights and found the room very good also the bed was very comfortable,
Breakfast .veggie option needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbreak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbreak House

Address: 29 Church Street, Keswick CA12 4DX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbreak House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Melbreak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbreak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.