We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Goulash..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
2 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5BT, England
(0)17687 73463
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Melton Mowbray
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Goulash..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We popped into here one afternoon to reacquaint ourself with the most fantastic goulash & were not disappointed..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    316
    92
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, no guns but plenty of dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Really enjoyed the food, although it did get busy in the evenings so get there early to get a seat.

Lots of very interesting people in there, staff were polite.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmartin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what else can i say ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We visit this area at least twice a year, have never stayed in Keswick before, although very familiar with the town. Great time had. This pub ended up being the fav. Very well run pub. Honest unfussy, great beer, good wine (we don't all drink beer). As we stood at bar - have to be early to get a seat!! the smell of the goulash was driving us nuts, thankfully we saw the two sizes going out otherwise we would still be there eating the large one. It was lovely ..we went back on our last night for some more!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another Visit - Goulash a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Having vistied Keswick on a couple of occasions, as a real ale drinker, the Dog & Gun is a must. The Hungarian Goulash is to die for! Discount for CAMERA members

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Why would you visit a pub in the Lakes if you were not Dog friendly!?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent place to eat, always full. The Goulash is their speciality and great after a long walk.. yes lots of dogs but that's what makes it a nice homely place. Not been for a while but will be there again at Easter. Looking forward to it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog and Gun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.