We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog and Gun

The Dog and Gun
2 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5BT, England
(0)17687 73463
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife isn't normally a pub buff. However, during a week long stay in the Keswick area, just after the big snow of March 2013, we visited the Dog and Gun for lunch. She enjoyed the experience (and the food) so much that she suggested going back again later in the week. I suspect that the features that attracted her were the friendly staff, the good town centre pub atmosphere and the great tasting and wholesome food. For me it was all of the above, plus the beer! classic ales, well kept and well served. We can certainly vouchsafe that the goulash is indeed splendid. Just what you need after a day out walking. An added bonus is the time and energy the pub staff and regulars put in to supporting the local mountain rescue team. A good effort by all. Well done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    316
    92
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dog Friendly Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Dog & Gun Pub not only has great food, I had the best Lamb that I've ever had, but it is also has a dog friendly wing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Goulash is massive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Dog and Gun is a favourite in Keswick especially for how friendly the staff are but it's reputation for the amazing goulash is certainly well earned. The portion is massive and is the best tasting, value and sizeable meal in the town. Definitely one not to be missed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Goulash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to the Dog & Gun many times. The goulash is always excellent - you can't go wrong choosing this dish. Ate twice there in one weekend & the second time I had the rabbit suet pie which was ok but not a patch on the goulash. The pub is warm & welcoming & very dog friendly. Good selection of ales for those who like different beers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge helpings !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We'd asked our B&B for a recommendation for pub food, and this turned out to be TERRIFIC! Better than we had expected.
Goulash was fab.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Gun also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Dog and Gun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog and Gun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.