We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Save
You added Pitcairn House to your Saves list
7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA124HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Nashville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Staying at Pitcairn House was my first B&B experience in the United Kingdom and what a wonderful experience it was! Heather and Steve were there to warmly welcome my father and I after we had been hours of traveling. Located walking distance from the city center (or centre) and a perfect little walk to the Lake where walking trails are all around. We had a lovely time talking to and getting to know Heather and Steve a little bit.

The room (twin bed ensuite) was spotless and comfy for us travelers. Heather even put a little "emergency box" with q-tips and other bathroom necessities which I thought was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection - they make such a great team! Since my dad and I were foreign to the city, Heather and Steve also made fabulous recommendations for restaurants and eats in the town that did not disappoint.

This little gem was a pleasure and a blessing to stay at!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so pleased your first experience of an English B & B was such a pleasant one and would like to thank you for taking the time to give us the lovely review.
If you come back to the Lake District we would love to see both you and your father again here at Pitcairn House. If we manage to make it to the USA tell your father we will take him up on the Guided Tour.

Best wishes to you both and well done for the half marathon in Scotland.

Kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
131
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked Pitcairn House for our recent stay in Keswick based on previous Trip Advisor reviews and were not dissapointed. Steve and Heather are the best hosts we have met in our years of visiting The Lakes. They are very friendly and welcoming and keep the accomodation immaculate. The breakfast also is superb with plenty of choice, you also have a choice of what time to take breakfast (not always the case elsewhere). The property is brilliantly placed for accessing the town and lake and also has the significant advantage of some private parking. We had room 3 and the views of the fells are wonderful. All in all you cant go wrong with Pitcairn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Paul and Gail, so glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at Pitcairn House and thank you for the compliments regarding our hospitality. We thoroughly enjoy welcoming people into our home and try to ensure all our guest have a relaxed and comfortable stay. It was also good to read that we lived up to your expectations and the previous reviews from trip advisor.
We hope that you will both visit us again some time soon.

Kind Regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mancheter
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A spur of the moment decision to go somewhere found us googling the Lakes and after consulting Trip advisor we found this little treasure; perfectly positioned at the edge of town within really close proximity of everything we needed. It was an overnight stay with the intention of us relaxing and taking in plenty of fresh air (and alcohol!) This place is quaint, pretty and really rather nice. We stayed in room 3 and it was just perfect for what we needed. The little touches left by the owners were very thoughtful.... guides to the local area, where to eat, although we still used trip advisor :) but especially things like a little box in the bathroom containing emergency things that us woman would need, especially the cotton buds, I always forgrt them! Great touch Heather! We enjoyed our stay here, comfy bed, nice bathroom, lovely house, perfect location and fantastic breakfast service this morning! Couldn't ask for more.....hope to return for another night here (or two) at some point! Lovely place, can highly recommend!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. We did reply earlier but made the mistake of mentioning your name which trip advisor do not allow so our response was not permitted.
We hope the next time you make a spur of the moment decision to visit Keswick you will not waste time searching the internet but give us a call and come back and stay here at Pitcairn House. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunswell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been regular visitors to Keswick for a number of years as keen walkers and have experienced a number of very good bed and breakfasts during that time , however this is by far the very best . We have stayed at Picairn several times now , on our own and with our dogs over the past few years .

The accomodation is always immaculatly clean and maintained and Steve cooks up a great breakfast , but over and above that Heather and Steve are a guenuinly great couple who always make us ( and our outdoor hounds) welcome . We have stayed so many times now that it feels like we are visiting freinds Picairn is our first choice and on the occasions when we could not get in we have really noticed the difference.
Also worth mentioning that the bed in the family room is the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on .

If you are looking for a great B&B that is ideally situated in Keswick and is friendly and welcoming dont hesitate to book Pitcairn .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Stevie and Tony,
Great to see you again and always pleasing for us to welcomes back friends. We have always tried to make our guest house feel "just like home" and glad to see we are achieving our aim. Thank you both for the very complimentary review and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Pitcairn House more by good fortune. Planning a last minute visit to the lakes over the bank holiday, we were delighted to find availability for 2 nights at such a wonderful place. We were lucky to have the last on suite bedroom and albeit slightly smaller than we would of liked it was delightful. Beautifully presented with a very comfy bed and great shower. Heather and Steve were great hosts and very helpful. The accommodation over all was immaculate and the breakfasts were wonderful. We will definitely be back and for longer if we book well in advance. The location is ideal and only a few minutes walk from town, and the lake. We could not of asked for more and had a wonderful stay overall.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely so you should not be disappointed. Some have better views but, my understandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you Wendy and Sean for such a lovely review, not only did you enjoy your stay with us over the weekend but you were very lucky with the glorious weather.
We have tried to make the best of all our accommodation regardless of size but in a old house like this some rooms are bigger than others.
As you noted rooms 3 and 4 are our most popular with 4, our feature double, having king size bed and modern en-suite facilities. It is also the biggest room in the house. Room 3 however, with its excellent views towards Skiddaw and Latrigg, is our most popular.
We would love you come and stay with us again but please remember how busy this area can be, especially during holiday periods.
Although we can guarantee you the same welcome and hospitality for your next visit afraid the weather takes a bit more to organise, but who knows you may be lucky again.

Best wishes and kindest regards

Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from a brillant 3 night stay at Pitcairn House over the May Bank Holiday Weekend. First impressions of the double room we stayed in....clean, well presented, decor modern, cosy. The breakfasts were great and set us up for a days walking in the lakes.
We had wifi, TV and coffee making facilities in the room.
Heather and Stephen could not be more welcoming and lovely, and made the stay a good one.
Would definitely return on our next break in Keswick and want to go back already!

From Rebecca and Sam.

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor rooms have lovely views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Rebecca and Sam, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely compliments. We hope you can tell that we both enjoy what we do here and very much appreciative you taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. We hope you can come and see us again soon and understand how you feel about wanting to come back to this beautiful area of England, we used to feel the same when we lived in Norfolk.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Will definitely stay here again. Beautiful place to stay. Heather and Stephen are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in the double en suite and the views from both windows are beautiful. Lovely finishing touches in the room and breakfast is very good. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherandsteve, Owner at Pitcairn House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you Lynsey for your lovely comments and for taking the time to give us a review. It is great to know that you both enjoyed your stay with us and will be recommending us to family and friends. We look forward to seeing you here again at Pitcairn House and perhaps next time you will be doing a marathon run too.

Best wishes Heather and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA124HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is beautiful, old Victorian Guest House with a great reputation for providing excellent bed and breakfast facilities.It has an unmistakably warm, welcoming atmosphere. Originally built around 1872 from traditional lakeland stone it is conveniently situated within a 5 minute walk of Keswick town centre. All rooms are pleasantly decorated, comfortably furnished, centrally heated plus have flat screen TV, hospitality tray and hairdryers. The whole area is surrounded by stunning fell scenery, we are close to the shores of Derwentwater and the ever popular Theatre by the Lake is but a 10 minute stroll. Many of the famous Wainwright walks can be tackled direct from our front door plus many other places of interest and leisure are all nearby. We have parking facilites, a drying room and also free Wi Fi access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitcairn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.