We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitcairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pitcairn House
Save
You added Pitcairn House to your Saves list
7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA124HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Ripley Surrey
1 review
“Great Place for a Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Steve and Heather are friendly people and staying at Pitcairn B&B couldn’t have been a nicer experience. My husband, young son and I recently stayed at this great B&B and received a warm welcome.
We were very pleased with our choice of B&B as our room was well appointed, comfortable and attractively decorated. Steve and Heather cooked us a delicious breakfast each morning, it was obvious that they take great pride in their cooking as they made every effort to make sure it was to our liking. It was a good place to be based to explore the Lake District.
Heather and Steve were polite, hospitable and helpful - offering advice about where to have our car repaired and places to visit.
I can’t say enough positive things about our stay. We will definitely be returning and will recommend Pitcairn to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
131
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
W Yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My sons and I recently stayed at this lovely BnB. We were very impressed for several reasons. The room had 3 single beds, was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were ample. The location was excellent for Keswick and its amenities. The owners are very pleasant, approachable and helpful. We would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with two friends last weekend for some walking in Scafell and a few beers Keswick. This is a great B&B. Heather and Steve are lovely, the house is charming and the rooms very clean and well apportioned. The 'feature' room looks magnificent. The breakfast is darn good too. I've stayed in a half a dozen B&Bs in Keswick and this is certainly the best. Andrew

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Excellent stay....warm friendly welcome from the owners Heather and Steve...rooms are clean and very comfortable....I cannot recommend it highly enough !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had meant to be camping but the weather was so bad that we needed a safe warm port in a very bad storm. We stumbled upon this lovely little BnB by chance. The owners were great and offered us a lovely room which was very charming, clean and comfortable. The cooked breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to set us up for the day. The BnB is perfectly positioned to explore Keswick both during the day and at night. I will be recommending this to my friends and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

my wife and i stayed for 4 nights over the recent june bank holiday, we could not fault this bed and breakfast, the house was very nice clean and tidy, my wife enjoyed the cooked breakfast, me being a faddy eater( the cornflakes and cold milk were spot on, also the toast) fresh fruit was on hand, yogurts and fruit juice, nothing was to much trouble for this lovely couple, i think they might have even lent me money had i asked ( maybe not lol) if you are planning to stay in keswick please make pitcairn house the place to stay you wont be disappointed, to heather and steve, thankyou for making us feel so at home and welcome, mike and brenda (hull)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a trail running events in june. we booked a double and a twin bedrooms en-suite, both were very clean and comfortable, nicely decorated. we really enjoyed our stay. Heather and Steve are very nice hosts, they very kindly offer to put our wet and very muddy running shoes to dry. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pitcairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcairn House

Address: 7 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA124HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcairn House is beautiful, old Victorian Guest House with a great reputation for providing excellent bed and breakfast facilities.It has an unmistakably warm, welcoming atmosphere. Originally built around 1872 from traditional lakeland stone it is conveniently situated within a 5 minute walk of Keswick town centre. All rooms are pleasantly decorated, comfortably furnished, centrally heated plus have flat screen TV, hospitality tray and hairdryers. The whole area is surrounded by stunning fell scenery, we are close to the shores of Derwentwater and the ever popular Theatre by the Lake is but a 10 minute stroll. Many of the famous Wainwright walks can be tackled direct from our front door plus many other places of interest and leisure are all nearby. We have parking facilites, a drying room and also free Wi Fi access. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pitcairn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.